We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TGI Friday's - High Wycombe

TGI Friday's - High Wycombe
Crest Road, Handycross, High Wycombe HP11 1UA, England
+44 (0)1494 450067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 150 restaurants in High Wycombe
Price range: $0 - $63
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped here with the wife and 3 very hungry kids on the way up to Warwickshire.It was a week day lunch time so only 6 or 7 tables in, but the place was Freezing cold and the front door wide open.Everyone sat with there winter coats on.By the end of the meal my feet were like blocks of ice and I was glad to get back in a warm car.I have never been so cold in a restaurant.If we had not been so hungry we would have left.
My Larger was flat and had a strange taste, but the Waiter did change it and say sorry'' it must have been the first out the Barrel of he day''....but the 2nd was Just as bad.
The 3 guys who were serving it must be said were friendly and and the food was good but not a good TGI experience.Will not stop here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    18
    26
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

although the service was ok - the place itself was really noisy and I found it to be expensive for what it was.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“More attention to detail needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ok, first of all, it was Valentines Day, so the restaurant was busy. We hadn't booked so had to sit at the bar which wasn't a problem.

Everyone knows what to expect with the menu here - burgers, ribs, fries etc!

To start with, I went for the sesame chicken pieces, which were served with a sticky sweet sauce, which complimented them well. I really enjoyed the starter and wanted to lick the plate! Afterwards, I was a bit horrified to find out that they are 1100 calories! Not good for the healthy eating!!

For mains, I went Sirloin steak and chips with veg. This was a big disappointment. The steak was a) overlooked b) very fatty and c) lacked flavour. The chips were soggy and the veg was completely overdone. After such a good starter, I expected more.

The service lacked the hyper friendly element that you come to expect from TGIs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'm sure this place could offer a better experience. But overall pleased.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We received an exceptional welcome, as I couldn't make online booking and was told to turn up. On arrival at 8:30pm,Thursday night, place was packed. The waiter tried to turn us away, as they were "exceptionally busy". Having explained that wasn't what I was told when I called the restaurant earlier to book table. There was 8 of us and I wasn't pleased. Surprisingly this waiter made the effort to get us in within no time. Was greatly pleased with this outcome as this waiter seemed to have delivered the service. However, the waiter at table spoilt the evening just with the drinks. Order was taken but took over 45mins to bring in 4 parts with 5-10min gap. By that time half of us had almost finished our drinks just waiting for drinks for others on table.
The food was served a lot quicker, orders arrived correctly and warm. I loved the food in this place and must say the meal servings weren't a disaster.
Desserts were delicious with a good choice for chocolate, or fruit, or even crumble lovers. A choice for everyone.
This place is a bit pricey but then in current time its in the middle range of spend. With alcoholic drinks expect your bill to higher. But consider it worth if you are looking for fab cocktails. If you were going for a place for food and drinks and its much better than to the similar likes of Chiquitos or Frankie & Benny's.
Good for family, taking friends, or as a work colleagues meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have visited this restaurant a number of times over the year. This time we where visiting for my daughters 13th birthday. Although the staff initially where attentive their was not any birthday fuss, which I was a bit disappointed about. But the meal itself was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's - High Wycombe also viewed

 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to TGI Friday's - High Wycombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGI Friday's - High Wycombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.