We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 Walton Road | The Malt House, Aylesbury HP21 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came to Aylesbury for a wedding and stayed for a night at the Ardenwood B&B. The house and grounds were beautiful and the landlady very welcoming and efficient. Room was very clean and tastefully decorated, and a carafe of iced water and a bowl of fruit was ready in the room upon my arrival, as well as the usual tea and coffee-making facilities. Breakfast also of a very high standard and freshly cooked. Would certainly recommend it as a relaxing place to stay in an excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
30
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here overnight whilst in Aylesbury for work in December 2012. Having previously lived in Aylesbury I was unaware that it was there- a hidden gem. It is well located and was within walking distance of the train station, the town centre and places to eat. I booked online and everything went smoothly. As a female travelling alone it felt comfortable and secure. I felt welcome from arrival until I departed. The room was well decorated, homely, clean and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and I had an excellent night’s sleep. Although I had a room with a shared bathroom there was no problem accessing the bathroom. The breakfast room was comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfast – eggs on toast and fresh fruit salad set me up for the day. I would certainly recommend this B & B to my friends and colleagues and will certainly return here if I am in Aylesbury in the future. This is the best B & B I have ever stayed in anywhere in the UK. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It`s been a great pleasure to stay in this beautiful house with its equally beautiful garden!
All the rooms are comfortable and lovely decorated.
Your host - Arden - will give you a warm welcome and will try anything to make you feel at home!
Don`t miss Ardenwood B&B if you plan to visit Aylesbury!

Antje and Dörte from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is really a little gem. Where do I start? Helping me with heavy bags up the stairs, a snack ready upon arrival in case I was hungry, iced water, tailor made breakfast, discounts and recommendations at local pubs/restaurants, offering me a lift to Bicester, organising cab firms (and discounts again)...I could go on. The place is spotless, staff efficient and friendly, the owner is a delight....she is worth coming back for a repeat visit alone!!! Highly recommended by someone who is very fussy!!! Reasonably priced and a chance to explore a rally nice part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On arrival the owner, Arden, was charming, helpful and very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and she was happy to share ideas of places to visit, things to do in the evenings. She made sure to show me around the house, and make sure I could master the "knack" of the door keys.

The level of service is exceptional, and always with a personal touch, but never intrusive.

The entire house is stylishly decorated while retaining many period features. My room was spacious and immaculately clean. Fluffy bathrobes and toiletries are provided and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. I was surprised that it was so quiet, given the proximity to a busy road. But there are large secure gates and a walled garden making this a little piece of tranquillity. The garden is beautiful and well tended, with several different areas where you can sit out on a summer's evening.

Breakfast was great with cereals, porridge, yoghurt, fruit salad and eggs on toast (any way you want them). In the dining room there are even photos of the local hens who are providing the free range eggs for breakfast.

I travel frequently on business and this place is a little gem, with secure parking, free wi-fi, proximity to town and a choice of excellent eating establishments within easy walking distance. There are discounts available at several restaurants in town, and a selection of take-away menus in the room. You are welcome to have food delivered to eat downstairs in the dining room.

The overall experience was so much better than you would expect from hotels charging double the price. Highly recommended whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure, solo or as a couple, or a group of friends. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ardenwood is one of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in - stylish and comfortable accommodation in a property full of character and charm. Nothing is too much trouble for Arden, the proprietor, who goes out of her way to ensure your stay is a happy one. Nice little touches include fresh fruit in room on arrival, plus chocolates, and breakfast is eggscellent - new laid!! There is a real "home from home" atmosphere in this centrally located gem, so handy for the Theatre and for exploring the beautiful countryside. Discounts given by some local eateries.

Room Tip: Room 3 - bathroom huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a great place to stay, handy for the centre of town and the theatre and with secure parking. It's also beautifully presented, with a sense of style you don't see in B & Bs generally. It's in a "character" property. Adding on the praise, my welcome was very friendly welcome and the breakfast was tasty.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 45 Walton Road | The Malt House, Aylesbury HP21 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardenwood guesthouse is an elegant Edwardian property set in 1/4 acre of gardens, which offers comfortable, spacious lodgings at good value for money prices. This is the ideal B&B accommodation for business travelers and weekenders visiting family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenwood b&b
Ardenwood Hotel Aylesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardenwood Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.