We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value, family friendly restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Plough
Tring Road, Aylesbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 153 Restaurants in Aylesbury
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It is part of the sizzling pub chain, not sure who owns the brand but was impressed with the food and service
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good value, family friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a meal here today, for 6 adults and 3 children and had a brilliant time.

The food was all fresh and hot and excellent value, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean.

I've eaten here over the years a d have always liked it but todays meal was truly great! 9 very happy customers, thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    5
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice weekday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have lived in Aylesbury for 2 years and today is the second time I have been here since I first moved to the area. The first time I visited Tbe Plough, my meal had clearly been microwaved and was worst than a frozen ready meal from the supermarket. BUT, to be fair to the Owners, they had just taken over and were openly asking for feedback on the usual menu to see where they could improve. I was unimpressed with the food but the price was good for drinks and who really cares after a few pints? It was busy and had a good atmosphere. I went back today and was VERY pleasantly surprised. I had a chicken curry and my Husband had a steak combo. Both delicious and cheap (only £20 including a beer and soft drink). The landlady was as friendly and attentive as that first visit 2 years ago and it's clear to see that she has made a difference! My curry was good but the steak looked DELISH. On par with Harvester at half the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delicious meal to round off the evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff were friendly and the astmosphere good. The waitress bringing our food was very pleasant and the food itself very tasty. My son had chocolate fudge cake that was a very generous helping. The food arrived fairly quickly especially as the waitress had warned us that a big party of people were due to arrive. I would definitely eat here again when next in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Wide menu. Good value. Excellent burgers and mixed grill. Nice relaxed atmosphere and a good location. Nice choice of beer and wide range of food to suit most taste. Good venue all year round.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here for a meal for four on a Monday Night, Not many in which suits us but still had a buzz about it, Food was very prompet and service good, Rib eye steak exellent also do a version of Jack D sause, not as spicy as Fridays. Sweets good too, Nice meal four plus drinks came in at £50. You can get a 25% off vocher on the web site too.
If you remember it's now a Sizzler.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
 
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.