We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hundred of Ashendon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hundred of Ashendon to your Saves list
The Hundred of Ashendon
The Hundred of Ashendon | Lower End, Ashendon, Aylesbury HP18 0HE, England (Formerly Gatehangers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here this weekend with my family, it was a nice enough stay funny entrance though ! Breakfast was lovely!! Only down thing was our shower! It was freezing cold then boiling hot then just trickled out so gave up. Staff were lovely too :)

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston Lancs UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I was looking for a dog friendly hotel to stay for one night, according to TA and their website they accept dogs. Their website says 'Dogs are also allowed in this room but there is an extra charge of £10 for the first night, then £5 per night thereafter to cover additional cleaning required.' I nearly booked on line but thought I would just call to check as we have 2 Bernese mountain dogs ( not moulting and very quiet). We left a message yesterday. The lady who phoned back today said she would check and then told us they would not be accepted as they only take small dogs. I called to speak to the manager to clarify this and explained that I could have booked on line to be told that we would have been turned away. He denied what his website states and said that it is up to the owner whether to allow dogs on a case by case basis. He was very rude in his manner. Please be advised if you have dogs do not book here!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

This is a nice country pub with a great imaginative menu but if you stay the night it can be noisy if you are an early to bed person with the bed rooms above the bar and resturant and no sound proofing also the windows are single glazed and you can hear the locals under your window smoking and talking .but on the plus great food with a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed for one night last night in room 3. Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with the most comfortable bed, I would happily recommend this B&B to anyone. the full English breakfast was plentiful and of a very high quality. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

You may think it odd to start a review with the quality of the pillows, but they can make or break a decent night's sleep.In the case of The Hundred, I slept like a baby, the bed was comfortable, the room just the right temperature and despite being above the bar area, very quiet.

What a lovely place for a weekend getaway, lovely hosts and staff who can't do enough for you (packed lunch at a moments notice? no problems! Best ham and cheese sarnie him indoors has had in an age)

We ate in the dining room, uncluttered, comfortable and very pleasant, and the food is divine. Our waitress was lovely, her recommendation of the Shin of beef and parsnip mash was spot on, and I so wish I hadn't suggested sharing the dessert, the chocolate slice with cherries was delicious, they even gave us an extra cherry to avoid the arguments.....wonderful!

All in all, a very pleasant stay - When things are so good, I hate there to be a but.....but there is (but only minor)

The beautifully decorated room lacked a mirror, the one in the bathroom is meant for people who are not vertically challenged, all I could see was the top of my head, plus there was no plug nearby for the hairdryer, could you stick up a mirror above the desk for next time...ta!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This hotel is brilliantly situated on the Main Street in Oakham and close to all amenities. The staff were busy when I arrived but attentive and showed me to a small but comfortable single room. Had a great meal here and also a nice cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Not a room at the top of,the stairs. A,fire,door,that really slams loudly when other guests retire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We live a few miles away and have now eaten here three times. It's the best local pub with restaurant attached we have found. Principally as the food is excellent - all very fresh, interesting combinations and beautifully presented. And pretty reasonably priced too. So overall highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hundred of Ashendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hundred of Ashendon

Address: The Hundred of Ashendon | Lower End, Ashendon, Aylesbury HP18 0HE, England (Formerly Gatehangers)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hundred of Ashendon is a beautifully English inn where you can eat, drink and sleep. Set in the heart of the hilltop village of Ashendon in a gorgeous 17th century building, you can expect to see nothing but green grass for miles. The Hundred of Ashendon has five unique en-suite rooms, comprising of one large king / family room which has a double bed and a sofa bed that can sleep 2 smallish people. We also have two doubles, one twin and one single room. All rooms have TV and wifi is available. All room rates include a breakfast from our breakfast menu which is served in the restaurant downstairs. Please note that the rooms have not undergone our refurbishment plans as of yet. In time, we will be giving each of the five rooms a make over. But for now, they are clean, quaint and what you’d expect for a countryside inn. Downstairs you’ll find The Gatehanger bar if you fancy a pint of local ale. And our restaurant with a menu that changes daily, serving seasonal British food, which is locally sourced. Matt the chef proprietor has worked in some of the countries top restaurants so you can expect to taste delicious dishes. This is his first solo venture.The Hundred of Ashendon is the perfect place to stay if you fancy a truly English escape. Matt, Pia & Bertie look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hundred of Ashendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hundred of Ashendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.