We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside theatre Aylesbury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aylesbury Waterside Theatre

Aylesbury Waterside Theatre
Exchange Street, Aylesbury HP20 1UG, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Aylesbury
Attraction details
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waterside theatre Aylesbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful building the theatre is, especaily at night when it is all lit up. As for the coffe shop there well how can I praise that?? I had lunch there and it was really great tasty fresh and very well presented, by very pleasant staff! Inside when you go in to each the show the seat a very comfertable and the air conditioning is on but not enough so you feel cold . All the staff that I have had the pleasure of dealing with have been very pleasant and happy looking. If I had to complain about anything it would be that just before the show starts it would be nice to have a bell ring to tell everyone to take their seat as the show will start in 5 mins then it would save people on the end getting up and down.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    86
    21
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very nice venue - great asset for the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have been to the Waterside a few times now and really appreciate the design, layout and colours around the place. Great asset for the town and worth a wander around even if you don't happen to be seeing a show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Osmonds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely theatre, modern with good facilities. Very helpful & friendly staff. Easy access, parking near by, also buses stop over the road. There are bars need by too.
Excellent show & recommended theatre!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Out of sight out of mind??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the waterside a couple of times in my free time, I've never been overly impressed!
On Monday 16th September myself &another member of staff took two service users to go & listen to the 'big band'.
The service users we took for a night out are both wheelchair users which was explained when I rang up & booked the tickets! We got to the theatre & showed our tickets, we were told our seats were upstairs & would have to use the lift...I don't understand why wheelchair users are made to sit upstairs? So we got upstairs & got to what we thought were our seats when we were told;you can't sit here, your seats are over there! We were taken to the seats in the opposite stalls...there was nobody else in the stalls so I don't know why we had to move! It definately felt like our service users had been put up in the stalls so they were out of the way...as the seats had been removed off the floor so people could dance if they wished there would of been plenty of room for our service users & they could of had something to look at instead of the walls!!! Please treat people with disabilities with more respect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEEPLE CLAYDON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Struggling with Access”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great show at the Comedy Club in the Second Space, but this theatre is not disabled friendly. There is no disabled drop off point which makes the first point of access for disabled people very difficult - we had to park on a pedestrian crossing to get even close. Then signage for the facilities was poor, virtually non-existent and we were given incorrect guidance by staff who seemed to have little disabled training, except the lady at Second Space who was caring. This theatre is large, there are quite long walking distances and requires better flow management, better management we suggest all round. There really needs to be some more thinking here if disabled patrons are not to feel excluded. Also acoustics in the Second Space are not good for voice with a lot of echo and the PA is very low quality for such a prestigious theatre. Seats are good and comfortable though with plenty of leg room and once again the show was great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aylesbury Waterside Theatre also viewed

Waddesdon, Aylesbury
Aston Clinton, Aylesbury
 
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Aylesbury Waterside Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aylesbury Waterside Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.