We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Lovely room...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
9 High Street | Wendover, Aylesbury HP22 6DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service! Lovely room...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, who were very helpful, especially given the bad weather that weekend - they called us to check if we were still coming - kindly gave us the option to cancel last minute if we needed to, catered for my wife's gluten-free diet, arranged for us to arrive ridiculously late, allowed us to have a late check-out etc. The room we had was particularly nice, with two windows & no neighbours! My friend's room wasn't quite so nice, although the beds in both rooms were very comfy & the heating very ON! We didn't try the breakfast, due to our late night, though. The menu in the restaurant looked very good and friends have recommended it., too.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red L, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review of your stay with us. We did have a lot of snow leading up to your arrival at the hotel and I was delight you managed to stay with us as planned. Room 8 is a lovely room and I’m glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will be able to come out and stay with us again and have the chance to enjoy our delicious breakfast.
Kind regards
Martin Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    47
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
57
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Perfect location in the heart of Wendover.
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The only negative is the room we had was ground floor and right next to the car park and outdoor drinking area which was quite noisy.
We stayed in room 21, we look forward to staying there again but in a different room.
Overall the stay was great value for money and we recommend it.

Room Tip: Only stayed in Room 21 so ask the receptionist which room they would stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red L, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review. I enjoy reading all reviews and getting your feedback. I’m sorry you found room 21 too noisy, if you are planning coming back to stay with us please phone the hotel direct and ask for room 8, 12 or 16. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Red Lion in the near future.
Kind regards
Martin Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I arrived as we were travelling to see our daughters graduation at RAF Halton. We had a very warm greeting on arrival by the receptionist who was both welcoming and informative about the area. Her husband was in the RAF too so gave us some good advice on travel to the base and what to expect, all in all a great person at front of desk to greet you with. We booked a meal in the restaurant that evening and the food was really very nice. My partner had the pie of the day which was unbelieveably tasty. One of the bar staff was a little cold in her hosting skills but nothing to take to heart. We had a few drinks at the bar and ended up meeting the manager (Sam) who was equally as friendly and knowledgeable as the lady on reception and made us feel at home. Our room for the evening was room 8 which was very comfortable, nicely furnished, warm (maybe a bit too warm) and we both ended up having a great nights rest.

The place itself is an old 16th century coaching inn so comes with some history and is set in an idylic village. The decor is befitting to the style and is a very interesting building.

In summary, I can't recommend this hotel enough. It is the first time we have stayed in a pub/hotel as we usually go for the big chains (Malmaisson, DeVere etc), however there is nothing like this in the area but I have no regrets and if we travel to that area again, the Red Lion will be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red L, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here, and I hope you enjoyed your Daughters Graduation.
The home made pies of the day are delicious!
Hope we can welcome you back here in the future, in the summer its lovely with lots of nice walks around the Chilterns, and manor houses to be visited.
Once again was great to meet you both.
Kind Regards

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

if you want to waste money on no sleep this is the place to go ... had room no 5 was told on booking how nice it was lol ... nice is not the word i choose
bloody fire door right outside room 5 which is well in need of some oil as it made such a noise i did state this on booking out .. all i was offered was 10 per cent off next visit .. joker told her there wont be a next visit ...
skipped breakfast as could not go home fast enough for some piece n sleep .really had the dog on after a night in this pub dreadful place
dont look to stay here .. .... had a meal on the saturday night although the staff were rather nice the food was dull over cooked chewie and very over priced for the quality .. cant say anything nice im gutted i paid to stay here for 1 night as come on who wants a night away to pay for no sleep !!! shame on you red lion i got nothing nice to say about you .....would not recommend

Room Tip: simple dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were woken about 3am by an open window in the room above banging which then kept us awake all night, when we were then faced with a long drive home dog-tired and it spoilt what should have been a happy day with our daughter and son-in-law. There was nobody to report this to during the night, and when we spoke to reception the following morning they did not seem particularly interested in our complaint and the manager could not be bothered to come and talk to us or write to us afterwards. We were given a discount but not a particularly large one considering that our stay had been ruined, and the hotel's attitude lacked care and consideration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food is great, nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere in this hotel. Hotel is based in the centre of a quaint village. If you are into your walking, this is an idea place to stop as it has loads of country walks and Wendover woods is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely overnight stay there. Food and staff excellent as was the room. Lovely hot water and warm room as the weather was freezing. Atmosphere of the inn was pleasant. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 9 High Street | Wendover, Aylesbury HP22 6DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Wendover Hotel Aylesbury
Red Lion Aylesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.