We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous local guest house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rookery Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rookery Guest House to your Saves list
The Rookery Guest House
227 Gloucester Road | Patchway, Bristol BS34 6ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Fabulous local guest house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place. I recently put my family up at the rookery guest house when I did not have enough space at home. This is a great place to stay. Very friendly, very clean and a lovely breakfast. My dad loved the garden. I would recommend the rookery, Very very pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
So glad we were able to help in accommodating your parents. The pleasure was all ours and pleased they had an enjoyable stay. Look forward to welcoming them back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
66
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rooms are clean and warm - our room was at the main road, but at night not much traffic noise, so no problem. Room was quiet small and bathroom was tiny and difficult to turn around in the shower.
Kettle, tea, coffee, bisquits in the room - hairdryer - alarm clock

friendly and helpful owners

good breakfast - but during the week only available from 7-8 o´clock, which is quiet early, when you are on holiday. Was not possible later.

small and limited car spaces in front of the house - so you easily parked in from other guests and cannot drive out without asking them to move their cars first.

All in all it was a pleasant stay.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we’re pleased you had a pleasant stay.

We’re only too happy to offer some flexibility regarding our usual breakfast times - just let us know your preference. I do recall on this occasion you wanted to be off early, and said you’d like your breakfast at 7.30am - but please be assured that a later breakfast is no problem at all.

Easily accessible off-street parking is available for all our guests and, with a little prior notice, we can make arrangements for your car together with its motorbike trailer. They do require a fair amount of space, and I’m sorry if this caused some inconvenience. We were also happy to assist by storing your ramp over the weekend, pending collection – the gentleman who called for it was most grateful.

Finally, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rookery when you are next in Bristol and will be happy to arrange it if you need extra parking space, or a later breakfast. Thank you, again, for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A warm welcome everytime you arrive from Averill the owner awaits you. If you're a one night stop over or all weeker I'm sure you wont find a better place than The Rookery Guest House in Bristol.
A very well looked after friendly house with large rooms (or at least the ones I saw are large) and comfy beds. A garden round the back and plenty of off road parking to the front. The conservatory has a microwave, fridge & microwave for those not wanting to go out like me!
Breakfast is served with plenty to choose from and enough to fill up even the hungriest.
I've been staying here for six months and would not go anywhere else now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything was perfect! Room was nice and clean. Breakfast was delicious. First time tried English breakfast. Owner was so kind. We felt very welcome there, like at home. Recommend to all who wants to visit Bristol.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been working in Bristol since last April and the Rookery is my one and only place of choice to stay. The friendly and warm service starts from when you walk through the door. The land-lady is always accomodating, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are all freshly decorated, there is a lovely garden area out back (granted lately it's been too wet and cold to stay out there for too long). Breakfast is superb and I can say that all the staff share the land-lady's enthusiastic and welcoming nature. You will not be disappointed if you make a choice to include a stay at the Rookery your visit to Bristol. Scores 10 out of 10 !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been staying at The Rookery on a regular basis now for over a year. Each stay is extremely enjoyable and always the highlight of my trip to Bristol. All rooms are very comfortable and always cleaned to a high standard. The owners are so lovely and always make me feel welcome. Breakfast is always amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here quite recently. Stayed here, and paid £48 for 1 night. Firstly, the lady is extremely welcoming and is genuinely one of the nicest people i've had the privilege of meeting. The layout is quite strange, having to walk through the house to get to my room which was in an annex type area at the back. You have to go outside to go inside. This wasn't really a problem. I was shown around my room and then the lady went on about her business. The first problem arose when I was urgently writing a business report using the free wi-fi, until the electricity went out in the annex. No lights, no wi-fi, no phone charger, no laptop charger, no bathroom as I couldn't see what i was doing. This was extremely in-convenient and I couldn't get the problem sorted as the owner was in bed. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so sorry for the inconvenience caused to you when we had a power cut the night of your stay. This was a genuine fault of the power supply to the house due to the high winds we have been experiencing of late. When the power went off at approximately 12.05am we did ring our power suppliers as we were obviously very concerned for the inconvenience to our guests, and was told it would hopefully be restored by 3 am. The power was off from approximately 12.05am until 3am. The following morning the electricity suppliers did ring to check everything had resumed to normal and apologised for the inconvenience, so I pass on their apologies to yourself. Again we are very sorry, for the inconvenience caused to yourself and fellow guests but am afraid the problem was out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rookery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Guest House

Address: 227 Gloucester Road | Patchway, Bristol BS34 6ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rookery is where you will receive a warm welcome and a home from home atmosphere in our friendly family run Guest House.The Rookery was a large family house converted and refurbished to house 8 rooms, all with ensuite and tea and coffee facilities. We have installed Wi-fi Internet access for guests' use and there is Multi Channel TV and DVD in all rooms for guests' enjoyment. A variety of rooms are available, Single, Doubles and a Large Twin. A traditional english breakfast or vegetarian if preferred is included in our very reasonable tariff.We have a lovely extensive landscaped garden, a fishpond and two large patios equipped with garden furniture where guests can appreciate the beauty and tranquility to relax and unwindOnly one mile from the M5 motorway and 3 miles from Bristol Parkway train station, we are ideally situated for business travellers, but equally suitable for guests simply wanting to explore Bristol and the South West.There is ample parking for one vehicle per room on the Car Park at the front of the house.The Rookery is a No Smoking establishment.Sorry we do not take Children or Pets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Rookery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rookery Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.