We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Restaurant

Kathmandu Restaurant
Colston Tower | Colston Street, Bristol BS1 4XE, England
0117 929 4455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 1,456 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have used this restaurant for many years as family treats etc. This year we again visited for my sons birthday. The salmon meal I have enjoyed all year was superb and the men loved their chicken chat. The atmosphere is good warm and friendly. Wine a little over priced but not unusual for a centre city place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    48
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best restaurant !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Last night we visited Kathmandu restaurant which is an excellent restaurant with an authentic Nepalese taste. We had momos for starter which came with an amazing sauce.Then for main we had lamb chhoyla and chicken sunkoshi which was delicious Nepalese dish.The service was friendly and very attentive.visit again with my friend for Christmas party.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love curry and, having sampled a pretty good mix of the curry houses and restaurants in Bristol, I can safely say that this is the best. The fact that I've been eating here for years now (at least 7) and I reckon I've eaten 150-200 meals here backs this up. Occasionally, I do go to other curry restaurants but they never match up to the quality and freshness of the food. The food is excellent, as is the friendly service. I have recommended this restaurant to many people (who agree with me) and I would recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't order delivery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me and my partner ordered from this restaurant as we didn't have time to cook and were both tired. The menu looked very good and the restaurant had good reviews so we decided to order 2 curries and sides for delivery. On ordering the food we were told that it would arrive within 30-45 minutes. After 50 minutes of waiting we called the restaurant only to be told the food was on it's way. 15 minutes later we phoned again only to be told there were issues with the taxi company. My partner only lives 15 minutes away from the restaurant so it shouldn't take long in a car. We waited about 1 hour 45 minutes for our food to arrive eventually and this was after repeated calls. The food was cold when it came and no additional items were included as a good will gesture and the delivery man insisted on taking the full £29 from us. I was insensed at both the quality of the food and standard of service from this joke of a restaurant. I rang to complain and got an apology but this wasn't forthcoming. I will never use this place again and would advise to look elsewhere if ordering food for delivery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“perfect for pre show eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked here at 6:30 prior to a show at Colston Hall at 7:30pm on a friday night. We love indian food so this was a no brainer.

We arrived a little early and considering its location it was quiet. It is a little dated inside decor wise and a little cold. The atmosphere was a little lacking too.

The staff however are very friendly and helpful. We chose nepalese main dishes to take advantage of the speciality cuisine being offered.

We chose the Lamb Choyla and chicken kritipur - I think they are spelt right! They were both very very tasty. We teamed it with indian vegetables and rice, naan etc.

I wouldnt say it was the most mind blowing indian food in terms of presentation and taste but it was still a very good experience. It was reasonably priced also.

If i could see an improvement - it would be to the atmosphere and ambience of the restaurant.

I would definitely go back if going to Colston Hall again and would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kathmandu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.