We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good things come to an end” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Sazz

Caffe Sazz
232-234 North Street, Bristol BS3 1JD, England
0117 9633334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #646 of 1,423 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: North St in Bedminster has seen double helpings of great new eateries opening in recent years and this small converted shop is one of them. Heavily influenced by the birthplace of its owners, the café offers a choice of traditional fare, like a range of English breakfasts, sandwiches and salads to go alongside the more interesting Turkish menu. The mezze to share is a good introduction if you're not familiar with the cuisine - a mix of starter dishes - and the chef's specials will satisfy the meat lovers out there. There's also good vegetarian options, a children's menus and don't forget the legendary baklava to finish off with.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“All good things come to an end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having been to caffe sazz many times for birthday celebrations on saturday nights i have to say our last visit 2 weeks ago will probably be the last ...There was no atmosphere no belly dancer and the food was poor , this was a first !!On all other occasions the food has been fab ,i ordered a steak which is what ive had before and always been lovely but after a few mouthfuls my mouth was on fire thinking it was the sauce that was on the plate i soon realised it was infact the steak which was covered in pepper and chilli herbs ,the steak was ruined and to say the least most of it was left .Now im not sure if the steak was gone off and this was done to hide it or something but it was a let down and not one member of staff was interested when i stated it wasnt how described on the menu .Usually this place is rammed on a saturday night but there was ony our table of 8 a table o 6 and about 4 others ,the belly dancer was not to be seen nor the gentleman on his guitar we had heard that it had gone down hill but thought we would try for ourselves and this was definately our opinion aswell , we are now looking for a simular place that provides quality food for he price you pay along with somekind of atmosphere as it seems cafe sazz has lost its way which is sad

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    5
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were seated at 7:30 and food came at 9!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was OK, but we sat down at 7:30 and our food didn't come until 9:00 and this took my baby daughter well past her bedtime by the time we were finished. We complained whilst we were waiting and they weren't very apologetic. By way of apology they did give us a free desert, but not until we had paid and were on our feet walking out the restaurant ... and they gave us only one desert for three people.

I am sure you can have a good experience here, but on this occasion it was dreadful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quality, authentic Turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went to Sazz one Wednesday evening with a bunch of friends for dinner, having promised myself to stop for dinner after enjoying several delicious afternoon apple teas (served with yummy shortbread). I'd been told it was excellent by several friends so seized the opportunity of a table pouncer deal.

The service was impeccable and friendly, mezze was delicious and I heartily recommend the aubergine main for veggies and lamb for carnivores. Mmmmm! Making me drool as I think about it.

Excellent value, even without a voucher.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greasy tasteless food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for a brunch with some friends - we will not be returning.

We had breakfasts (American, English, Vege) and each was terrible. Bacon was greasy and tasted like it had been cooked in old oil; sausages were deep friend and crispy - we were unable to work out what meat they were made of (beef was our best guess); eggs were greasy and yolks powdery and dry; hash browns were swimming in grease; tomato tasteless; and soggy toast.

Americano coffee and latte were ok, orange juice was nice and service was ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience! Very happy customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We've been here twice recently both on voucher deals and been really impressed. The food has been fab we've had the most expensive thing on the menu , the staff are friendly. Weren't treated different for having a voucher like other places, great atmosphere. Lovely place for a nice meal, clean, good music, would def recommend this place x

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Sazz also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Sazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Sazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.