We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Indian Restaurant

Tamarind Indian Restaurant
5 Badminton Rd, Bristol, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #588 of 1,425 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal, starter and main. I chose things I wouldn't usually have and they were lovely. Service was quick and polite. The menu was a bit big so hard to choose and of course, they only had the usual rubbish puddings! But a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    10
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The choice was good, food delicious and the waiters friendly. Was lovely that they offered us a break between starter and main on a busy Friday night, we did not feel at all rushed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had heard amazing things about this restaurant and was really excited about visiting. I have to say I was completely underwhelmed. The waiters were unfriendly and impatient to take our order and the food was below average. I had a chicken jalfrezi and the chicken was so tough I couldn't eat it. I definitely would not go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent curry, good service. The only better curry houses I've been to in Bristol are The Royal Raj and Spice Mahal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everyone I know who's been here does not go to another Indian restaurant. Great food, great service. Perfectly priced aswell A++++

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Indian Restaurant also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Tamarind Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.