We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Raj

The Royal Raj
winterbourne, Bristol, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 1,423 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol U.K
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated my youngest daughters 18th birthday and were not disappointed at all. We were given a separate room and made to feel at home. The food was delicious to our surprise and
the service excellent thanks to the manager who was attentive with us. Would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Uneven Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

In the last three months we've had two takeaways and one sit in meal here. The sit in meal was wonderful - both in terms of the meal itself and the sincerity of the service. It's a bit of a drab place compared with the Taj Brasserie up the road - but that place is more concerned with getting your money than giving good service.

Sadly, however, both take aways have been well below par. Dishes seem to have been made up from the same sauces - A Chicken Tikka Massala, Korma and Kashmiri were absolutely identical. Absolutely! Only the labels on the lids were different. Sadly too, the dishes were not meat with a sauce but rather sauce with a little meat if you dug deep enough. Poor - but we live in hope and will give the place another chance!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you enjoy an nice Indian meal then please avoid this restaurant. Apart from poor service, who didn't know what to say (and nervously laughed) when I informed them that our meal was OK at best, the food is far from authentic.

We ordered 2 separate dishes which upon arrival both looked and tasted very similar. Their use of onions to bulk up the meal is also an indication of cost cutting at the expense of a flavoursome meal. We also asked to have our meal as "Madras hot", I think it was an insult to Madras as it was one of the blandest meals I've ever had.

The decor is very dated and the staff seem very uninterested and inexperienced all of which meant that the meal was one to forget.

The best part of the meal......the chocolates with the bill, says it all really!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This Indian restaurant is by far the best i have visited for excellent service relaxed surroundings and great food well worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian in the south west!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is my regular eat and eat out place for indian food. Before I attending Royal Raj I actually didn't enjoy indian food, always found the food very greasy & oily. Wanting top class service and food look no further!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Raj also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Royal Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.