We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic asian food at excellent prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teohs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Teohs
26-34 Lower Ashley Road, Bristol BS2 9NP, England
+44 (0)117 907 1191
Improve this listing
Ranked #476 of 1,345 restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $47 - $47
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic asian food at excellent prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've eaten here a few times and never had a bad meal. It's a lovely informal and relaxed atmosphere where you can choose from Malaysian, Thai, Chinese and Japanese food all under one roof. I haven't quite made it through the menu but everything is freshly cooked and is served quite quickly. I wouldn't recommend it for an intimate dinner for two but for family occasions or groups of friends it's ideal, they are also child friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    5
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have eaten here on a few occasions and always enjoy our food. The mango pancakes are especially delicious and I have been known to order two deserts on occasion! A nice place for a sociable meal, not really for a romantic dinner for two!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once vibrant, good value, and tasty...Gone downhill over last year”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've been eating here since its opened, and have really enjoyed the place as a local resident over the years, it was a pioneer restaurant, regenerating St Pauls, serving good value and fresh asian food when it opened..
Over the last year or so the place has started going downhill in several ways :

The good value has gone, and the cost is now unrealistic, as the pricing model is £7.50 for all dishes. This single price was fine when dishes were around £5, but now a small spring roll starter is £7.50. This pushes a 2 course meal up into a league where there are far better restaurants in bristol.

The menu never changes in years and this can be boring. Furthermore it makes it very easy to see that the quality of cooking is going downhill, the food tastes less, has less expensive ingredients (2 prawns, 2 mussels in the penang fried ho fun) and the portion is much smaller..

The service is awful, even when we were almost the only people eating there, the waiter took ages to respond to requests for chopsticks and a plate for our toddler, instead he walked past the chopsticks and chatted in the kitchen whilst we waited with our food...

The place has gone from a vibrant, restaurant often full to being empty every time we visit and I can see why... Mr Teoh, sort it out please!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, terrible service - DON'T DO THE COOKING COURSE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Have eaten in this restaurant a couple of times and had quite ordinary food with incredibly rude service. My wife and I made the mistake of paying £50 for a cookery course with Teoh so we could learn how to cook pan-asian food; it was a 3 hour course and 1.5 hrs involved introductions and pointless chat. When we eventually started with the cooking, we were just asked to chop vegetables so he could cook everything. The end result took 3.5 hrs to make and was just inedible. We complained and were told we could not get a refund because "no-one had ever complained before". Complete waste of time and money, would hate for anyone else to make the same mistake.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Great food

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teohs also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Teohs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teohs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.