We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh my Phall! Great restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oh! Calcutta!

Oh! Calcutta!
216 Cheltenham Rd, Bishopston, Bristol BS6 5QU, England
+44 (0)117 924 0458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 1,459 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“oh my Phall! Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Genuinely one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Just got back tonight after going out with 9 people from work to sample the Phall.

From the moment we got there all the staff were so welcoming, friendly and genuine. No-one minded the fact there were 9 noisy men in the restaurant all in hysterics and later sweating and crying.

The food was delicious. The phall was a different level of heat to anything I have ever experienced. But was very very tasty, and to be honest the experience of the heat was amazing.

Will regularly return but maybe not for the phall too soon!

Thank you oh Calcutta!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    81
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Foods ok, the service is a bit dire.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The mains come with rice, but I didn't notice it and the waiter didn't even question it when we ordered a load if extra rice as a side. Therefore my wife and I ended up with 5 sides between us which was just stupid. I couldn't understand why they didn't question it. Food was ok, not much heat though. I went for the hottest dish (other than the phall) and it was really mild. It did have a fair bit of flavour though. Keema naan was brilliant.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service, a real winner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The food here is fabulous, we always get poppadoms with hot lime pickle and mint sauce and it's so moreish you don't want to put it down and start you main. We usually go for stright up curry with pilau rice and some hot vegetable sides and salad and it's consistently good, fresh and arrives in a timely manner if it's takeaway.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have tried many ( and I mean many) curry houses in Bristol but everytime we go back and eat here it truly is the best around. The specials starter with lentils ...Fab. The Bombay chicken.. Spicy but lovely. All washed down with Cobra. If you check all the deals out there at the moment you can often get 25% off total bill.. It's a bargain.
Modern decor... Seating arrangements might not be to everyone's liking but it's different. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service, really recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh! Calcutta! also viewed

 
 

Been to Oh! Calcutta!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oh! Calcutta!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.