We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 course meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myristica Restuarant

Myristica Restuarant
51 Welshback, Bristol BS1 4AN, England
+44 117 930 0806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,530 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bristol's Myristica, has set out with the aim of giving their customers 'a truly authentic flavour of Indian food'. The experience begins with the restaurant itself. Modern, sleek and good looking from the polished hard wood floors to the gleaming marble bar the interior surely wouldn't be out of place in a top Mumbai hotel. The food follows suit, beautifully presented, each dish is made to order using quality, seasonal ingredients. With traditional street food cooked with as much passion as the speciality family dishes Myristica is rewriting the Indian food rule book.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just ate there with my girlfriend. We have both lived in India and we reminisced about the authentic feel of the place (minus the cows in the streets and layer of dust/pollution common in Indian cities). The food was amazing. Just the right 'heat' and delicate balance of spices in our dishes. She had the prawns, chicken, and chocosa (a chocolate samosa); I had pakora, the chicken, and cheesecake with apricot and cinnamon topping. We both loved every bite of it. The service was great/prompt/friendly. No complaints here. I look forward to my next trip there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal.

Regards,

Amit L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    58
    21
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Disappointed on this occasion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friends and I have been to Myristica on three previous occasions and have always had an excellent meal. However on the last occasion it was an 'average curry house " not the delicious Indian quinine previously experienced.
There were very mixed opinions from my friends (8 in all) with regards the rabbit starter and those of us who had the Vindaloo for main course felt that it definitely lacked substance.A couple of us felt that the chicken had not been cooked in the sauce resulting in chicken pieces with a vindaloo dressing. One friend however had a king prawn dish which was sampled by most of us, this dish was flavoursome and aromatic.
The various rice accompaniments were good and the Okra and Bombay potatoes were excellent.
The restaurant itself is also starting to feel a little tired and could do with a bit of an uplift in terms of decor. Hope this occasion was an unfortunate blip. Will go back to check it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Myristica. I am disappointed that you feel we did not meet the very high standards that we have set on this occasion, but can assure you that we will be striving very hard to ensure that every meal we serve will be as good as any we have served before.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

Amit L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
“Always good food, always good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have eaten here many times before and the Modern Indian cuisine never fails to impress me. If you like things traditional, they can cater for that need as well! My girlfriend loves hot curry and she assures me that Myristica makes some of the hottest and tastiest curry in Bristol.

The rabbit starter is exceptional as is the Duck main. Treat yourself to a tandoori pineapple after dinner, you won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your positive dining experience with us at Myristica, it really is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Amit L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Myristica is, at the time of writing, listed as #133 in Bristol.
This is either because the competition really is so high or because (and I suspect the latter here) that the people who frequent the Myriatica don't want it to get out as to just how good the food here is, to ensure they can always get a table!

This place really deserves to be higher as the food, staff, building and atmosphere are all superb

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind and positive review of Myristica, it really is appreciated. We too are a little baffled at our ranking but will keep on producing quality meals to ensure we get more positive reviews.

Regards,

Amit L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited Myristica in Bristol, as part of a birthday party and really enjoyed the food and service.

The restaurant itself is very light and airy, with a modern look and although busy it had a lovely relaxed ambience.

The food we had was pre ordered and it was ll presented and tasted superb, specialy
the "green chicken tikka".

The staff were friendly and hard working and could not fault the service..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your dining experience with us at Myristica, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Amit L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myristica Restuarant also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Myristica Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myristica Restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.