We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insulting food and terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pitcher & Piano - Bristol

Pitcher & Piano - Bristol
Canons Road, Bristol BS1 5UH, England
+44 (0)117 929 9652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #717 of 1,340 restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A magnificent 2 floor building with a spectacular view of the Bristol Harbour Side. There is a large outside seating area perfect for eating and drinking while taking in the sites and sounds of the harbour. Serves a large range of drinks from delicious cocktails to a variety of ales. Also serves a range of food all day every day, with breakfast from 11am to late dining until 10pm.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Insulting food and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was waiting at the bar for over ten minute while the one barman made cocktails. The manager was in the background arranging tables, but didn't see fit to come over and help - appalling customer service.

We then bought three dishes off the menu. We were served stale chips which we asked to be replaced and they were - but why serve bad ones in the first place.

The other two dishes weren't much better so we complained and got a refund. Fair enough but why serve substandard food in the first place. Trust me, I'm not that fussy but I do refuse to pay between £5 and £10 for below average food. In this case way below average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    27
    56
    28
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK, can be very noisy at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We met up with friends in the bar on a Saturday lunchtime. Service was reasonably prompt and pleasant. 3 of us chose 3 x tapas plates as our lunch @ £11.95 per head (not really that good value) and the 4th member had a Burger. The waiter got one order of tapas wrong, but replaced it fairly quickly. The food was fine as was the atmosphere.

Later in the evening we called in for a drink, hoping to find a seat at one of the armchairs or sofas on the upper floors, but the noise level throughout all the floors drove us out as it would have been impossible to have any sort of a conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bristol Jan 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Good atmosphere. Good food. Large selection of ales. Friendly service.
Food was served in a timely manner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“great place to meet friends for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great drink with some friends here. Nice restaurant, good atmosphere and a wide choice of drinks and snacks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A generic pub that sold a fair range of alcohol and some nice food. The ability to mix three small starters was good.

It was set in a nice area which I imagine would be very busy in the summer.

Seating upstairs meant you could quietly people watch in a comfy armchair seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - Bristol also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitcher & Piano - Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.