We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual quirky restaurant/bar on Park Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldbrick House

Goldbrick House
69 Park Street, West End, Bristol BS1 5PB, England
+44 (0)117 945 1950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #296 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Unusual quirky restaurant/bar on Park Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You need to explore the different levels. In the summer the roof terrace is ideal for a drink. The upper bars are very comfortable surroundings. The downstairs is more like a pub. Good quality food whichever floor you are on.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    91
    46
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“What a turn around from my last visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Following my last review, George the owner contacted me to get further feedback on my visit and to invite me back to the restaurant. I visited again this week with 2 friends and must say it was a totally different, enjoyable experience. The service was top notch and very good food. It was very busy on a Wednesday evening and there was a super buzzy atmosphere. Thank you George and Goldbrick House for a great evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, but not good value!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Okay, I know it's supposed to be an upmarket place, so the high prices were expected. Food was good quality, but as a vegetarian, I have been to much better places for quality, quantity, and simply choice.

While it wasn't a bad experience, I wouldn't go to Goldbrick House by choice again when there are other good restaurants around.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Bristolian venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This lovely restaurant in its warren-like Park Street building reminds me of what I suspect such an eatery might have been like in Dickensian times. The different parts of the building are a delight to discover, and the experience of eating or just having a drink is made special by the excellent service. Events organisation is helpful and no-nonsense, and the food is always great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Took some colleagues (15 in all) to GBH for a meal - many of whom had not been there before. Service, quality of the food and overall environment excellent. A lovely venue and really pleasing to see it so busy on a cold January evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldbrick House also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Goldbrick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldbrick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.