We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, loved it!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Save Saved
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Bristol Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1RY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #19 of 83 Bristol B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay, loved it!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Found this B&B on internet so other than pictures we had no idea what it would be like. Great service when booking on the phone. Lovely welcome on arrival. Great room, with large en-suite clean bathroom, beautiful views from a lovely round window. Great location two mins from motorway and 10 mins from Bristol city centre. Fantastic breakfast very fresh and hot. I highly recommend this B&B and we will return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
21
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This B & B was fantastic, we had a warm welcome, a clean and big room were you could see the fields from the window. The building has plenty of character, the 18th century coach house and surroundings mixed with modern, clean facilities make for an enjoyable experience. I highly recommended!! This picturesque olde English village sits sandwiched between the bustling metropolis of Bristol and the Roman city of Bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

- We forgot something in the room and they called us in time to go back and get it. Thanks!
- Loved, loved, loved the breakfast!!
- Nice big room
- Excellent value compared to the other 6 guesthouses we've stayed in during our visit to the
UK

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Chosen for closeness to Bristol Parkway (10mins in a taxi cost about £8). The room was clean, bed was comfy although a little squeeky (!) and, despite being very near to two motorways it was really quiet and we got a good nights sleep. The bathroom was clean with a nice heated towel rail and a modern shower. Breakfast was great with a good selection of cereals, juice, fresh fruit - we also had poached eggs on toast which were lovely. Two pubs and a Chinese nearby, who ate at the Chinese which wasn't the best we've had but was ok. B&B host was a very nice chap and very helpful. If we were down that way again we would go back.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a squeaky bed....but it did have a double and two singles so a good family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
526 helpful votes 526 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The first thing to say is that this is a Bed and Breakfast, so don't expect a starred hotel, so no bar, no phone in the room or fridge, trouser press, etc.

Not easy to find as tucked down a little drive, with a former hotel being converted into flats in front of it, but its just opposite the Crown pub immediately after the sharp right-hand bend and road junction. Drive a bit bumpy and the outside belies the super interior, which is clean and well decorated and filled with European style heavy wooden furniture, including the courtyard room quietly situated with others at the rear in which I stayed. There was a veranda outside the rooms with smokers tables. Obviously very popular with business people by the number of cars filling the car park when I came back late at night, and the lack of diners at my 8.30am breakfast as they had presumably all gone off to work.

Bedroom comfortable but not luxurious - I could have done with some shampoo, but was later told I could have got some from reception - surely most B & B's give you shampoo these days? Another quirky thing - the wardrobe was a rustic ladder leant against the wall with hangers on it - simple but effective.

Good cooked breakfast within the £55 I paid for a double room for single use.

Staff super helpful from the proprietor when I needed to phone home to say I'd arrived and found no telephone and I had no mobile with me - he gave me a free call on his mobile, to ordering taxis to go out that night and to go to very nearby Bristol Parkway Sation next morning. Also breakfast waitress Jean who was so helpful in discussing the route and pros and cons for my walk to nearby Winterbourne, looking after my bags when I went on my walk, whether I should try to walk to Bristol Parkway Station (don't, its too far and hilly) etc.

For eating there's the Crown pub opposite, the Horse and Groom a few hundred yeads away to the right past the M32 overbridge, with a Chinese Restaurant behind it, and Winterbourne five minutes away in your car with a range of shops including Co-op and dining places.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Only stopped one night, was very pleased with the accommodation, clean, great bathroom and all the mod cons. Breakfast was spot on... very friendly owners, will be booking again for my next trip to Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My sister recently got married and the whole family stayed at The Coach House just outside Bristol. Paul and his staff couldn't do enough to help but at the same time gave us our own space to come and go as we pleased.We had lovely cosy, clean rooms with beautiful views through unusual round windows and a fantastic breakfast every morning with as much coffee as you wanted!!!! Everyone was friendly and welcoming which really made our weekend even more enjoyable so thankyou to them! We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: Bristol Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade 2 Listed former coaching house set in the picturesque conservation area of Hambrook. Convenient for the city of Bristol, Bath and the surrounding Cotswolds. Close to Bristol Parkway Station, J1 of M32 and J19 of M4. Set back from the road, it has 15 comfortable modern en-suite rooms, an attractive courtyard garden and its own car park. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.