We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bacio

Al Bacio
95 Queens Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LW, England
+44 117 973 9734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,459 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located on Queens road, Clifton our restaurant offers a unique and welcoming environment in which to share life’s best moments with friends and family.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great food, great staff, great place!! I came for the first time on saturday and I really enjoyed it. The food quality is at an up italian standard, it's not such an "italian fake" like in other places in Bristol. Prices are really honest too. I am looking forwad to come back. No doubts, this is the best Italian restaurant I have ever tried in Bristol. I highly reccomend to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    48
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bristol's best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having eaten in most of Bristol's best restaurants, my wife and I were seriously impressed by this little gem in Clifton. Other Italians in the vicinity are 'all' chains where you can be rest assured you'll be provided with the same monotonous dishes, the same cheap decor and the same expected lack of atmosphere. Al Bacio, on the other hand provides not only a warm, cosy atmosphere within an elegant surroundings but also simply delicious food of an exceptional standard. And food at very good prices. The Girelle di melenzane with smoked scamorza was excellent and the monkfish pasta perfect. The drinks list was extensive and catered for all occasions. The service was exemplary; the waiters were professional and yet amusing, and all in all we had a superb evening. We're looking forward to going back with friends very soon and eager to try the rest of the menu. Definitely worth visiting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Italian cook, really high quality food, warm and professional service new place and big portion...and all that with a reasonable price. Simply this is the best restaurant in Bristol.
If you have any special needs just ask!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely little modern italian, great food, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely little Italian, went on a Friday night, was very busy. Ordered oysters which were superb, the wine was superb also. I also had a pizza which was very nice. My girlfriend ordered the sea bass which came deorated with mussels and looked great. The service was very friendly and funny.

I would give the restaurant 4.5 / 5 as I found the manager pushy in saying that we review on tripadvisor. It did not make us feel unique , we felt just like another customer. However the rest of the staff were very nice. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality Italian in Clifton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you have any doubt about visiting Al Bacio,rest assured, it's not a chain but a genuine independently owned little gem. The welcome is warm, service impeccable and friendly and the food is superb.
Pino and his team are very experienced and it shows, it has a real feel of a contemporary restaurant in Milan or Rome, today was our second visit and we are already booked in for our third.
The food is stylish and authentic which is confirmed by the presence of Italian clientelle (Indeed my husband also having an Italian grandfather.)
Prices are also very reasonable for the high quality ingredients and the kitchen is flexible to individual needs.
I would highly recommend this resturant you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio also viewed

 

Been to Al Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.