We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Black Stone Eggs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 59

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe 59
Apsley Road | Clifton, Bristol, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #666 of 1,530 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the Black Stone Eggs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went here recently for brunch following a recommendation from a friend who lived nearby and it really did not disappoint! Friendly service, sensible prices and a lovely, really tasty meal. Intend to drop in again the next time I'm in the area :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“always reliable - good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

really good no nonsense cafe with great staff and good value food. Children are made welcome and it is a good place for a family meal. There is a good range of coffees and teas as well as a fantastic all day breakfast menu, small plates of food and larger mains. We have always felt welcome and nothing seems too much trouble for the staff- highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I have regular business meetings here - cool location in a good spot of Bristol....ah hem...."Clifton"!! Very friendly and welcoming. Great coffee and grub to match - have no reason to look anywhere else as I am a creature of habit and this suits me to the ground. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Child-friendly and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have visited Cafe 59 on two occasions recently. Once for a coffee and snack with my 2 year old and once for lunch with a friend. First time, great coffee and they comped the drink for my 2 year old - how kind of them! So, I was already a fan after that experience. The second visit confirmed it for me. I had the calamari, and it was quite simply the best calamari I have ever had. Large portion and cooked to perfection. Very reasonable prices and large outdoor patio should we ever have any nice weather again. I've heard the pancakes are outstanding, looking forward to trying those soon. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country, near Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No room at the Canteen was a blessing in disguise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We needed a spontaneous late lunch and hoped we'd either snag a late table at the newly opened River Station Canteen in Whiteladies Road, or be able to enjoy a bar snack there, at least. So we parked in Apsley Road and walked around the corner, only to be disappointed: no tables and no gluten free option among the cakes available as bar food. I'd noticed Cafe 59 across the road from our parking space and suggested we give it a try. Luckily, they were happy to accommodate the three of us.
We spent some time looking at the menu - which was full of delicious sounding temptations of Mediterranean and middle eastern dishes. I decided on the current meal deal, choosing monk fish with pomegranate and puy lentils and the flour free chocolate Turkish delight,cake. My son had lamb skewers and a brownie with ice cream while my husband had the breakfast dish of tomatoes with middle eastern sausages so enjoyed by Danny A. We found the food and the atmosphere in this cafe really excellent and were grateful for the happy accident that led us to its door. We will certainly return to this friendly restaurant soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 59 also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Cafe 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 59, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.