We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Street Espresso

Small Street Espresso
23 Small Street, Bristol BS1 1DW, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,530 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: PLEASE BE ADVISED WE ARE AN ESPRESSO BAR AND NOT A RESTAURANT!We are an independent espresso bar in the heart of Bristol offering fantastic coffee, loose leaf tea, handmade cakes and cold drinks. In the mornings we also have fresh pastries from Hart's Bakery and for lunch we have a small range of sourdough toasties. Everything is available to enjoy in or to take away.We specialise in coffee, and at any one time have a house and guest espresso, decaf, and also single origin beans for filter coffee. All our coffees are also available ground or whole bean for you to enjoy at home.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just a gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

These guys have really got it right; amazing coffee carefully prepared with skill and precision, some delicious pastries, great service and all in comfortable relaxing surroundings.

I'll keep coming back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great Independent Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A small but great coffee shop in Bristol.

about 200 sq ft with a bar a few seats and guys who love making great coffee -you don't really need much more.

I like that its unpretentious not always the case in Bristol's burgeoning coffee scene just friendly with great coffee, a few you won't encounter in Starbucks and great cakes and pastries well displayed from their supplier Hart's Bakery.

Go there

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most interesting espresso in Bristol!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I found out about Small Street Espresso, having just returned from spending some time in Italy, I was excited and intrigued. Although not your regular Italian coffee, Small Street offers a selection of local and constantly changing coffees which always excite the palette with unexpected and complex flavours.
The design of the shop however makes for the Italian style of drinking coffee - quick, sharp, and sharing it with others.
Modest, independent and most certainly worth frequenting leads me to conclude that we simply need more coffee shops like this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended small street by a friend who wouldn't stop raving about it. No pressure then as I visited for the first time and wow. The cafe itself is tiny, but every detail to the clear love for coffee right down to the colour matching of the beautiful coffee machine with the cups is superb.

The guys who own it clearly know their coffee and it really shows. Several visits down and I can honestly say its the best coffee in Bristol and I like to think I have tried most of them! :)

Good work guys, now all I need is to live closer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good place for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been there after eating in lebanese restaurant. Very good latte with a nice cake, I love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Street Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Small Street Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Street Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.