We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and Passion in matrimony!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Street Espresso

Small Street Espresso
23 Small Street, Bristol BS1 1DW, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: PLEASE BE ADVISED WE ARE AN ESPRESSO BAR AND NOT A RESTAURANT!We are an independent espresso bar in the heart of Bristol offering fantastic coffee, loose leaf tea, handmade cakes and cold drinks. In the mornings we also have fresh pastries from Hart's Bakery and for lunch we have a small range of sourdough toasties. Everything is available to enjoy in or to take away.We specialise in coffee, and at any one time have a house and guest espresso, decaf, and also single origin beans for filter coffee. All our coffees are also available ground or whole bean for you to enjoy at home.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Coffee and Passion in matrimony!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous top notch coffee delivered with passion and pride. There's much more in each cup than just caffeine. On the front line of proving how good coffee can be when done with care and desire. Make it your one stop caffeine shot in Bristol!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just a wonderful experience from start to finish.
Amazing, amazing coffee.
Made both my wife and I extremely welcome.
Very generous with the free samples, wanted genuine feedback to see if they could improve on anything (which they couldn't !).
Can't recommend these guys enough.
Well worth the trip from Wales just to go there.
Which we definitely will again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been going to Small Street Espresso since shortly after it opened. Every time I go in the staff never fail to be warm, welcoming and happy to chat. The standard house blend flat white is very nice, and there's always the guest coffee as an option. Most recently that's been a gorgeous, raisiny number from Indonesia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly brewed and roasted coffee.
Really friendly and knowledgeable staff - and even better, all locally sourced
Definitely in the top of the south west coffee shops

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I've only started liking coffee in the lays year as my brother has just stared a Barista job, I like to travel around local towns and cities seeking out the best coffee shops. What can I say small street is the standard by wich I judge all coffee shops, every time I come over the bridge (from Wales) I have to go to small street

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Street Espresso also viewed

 
 

Been to Small Street Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Street Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.