We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful staff and unsanitary.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Za Za Bazaar

Za Za Bazaar
Canons Road | Harbourside, Bristol BS1 5UH, England
01179 220330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #448 of 1,459 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dreadful staff and unsanitary.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We heard people complaining as we arrived but carried on up to our table. There was no air con and the place was sweltering. Food was slow to be topped up and staff rude when asked for drinks. We waited 20 minutes for water and I was told it was too hot and busy so we could just wait! Food was tasteless nothing incredible.

We sat near a clearing station and I watched staff take half empty jugs of water off tables, decant them into one, top up with ice and serve out again! Several dishes ran out so we headed for dessert and ice cream too had run out so we left. This place is a disgrace and needed a backup to having no air con.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    514
    358
    142
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice of food, poor quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere, unfortunately that's about it. Expensive for drinks, staff hardly understood a word we said and the Asian food was tasteless and reheated. Won't be coming here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“buffet heaven! soooo much to choose from and sooo reasonble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

very memorable dining. its like a fair/ bazaar!!! sooo many types of food. mexican/italian/indian/chinese/arabic/fast food/desserts/salads u name it and u got it. huge restaurant with a great busy personality. never been to such a massive buffet before! got a great bar area downstairs. great location just next to the water. really worth recommending!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First of two visits to this restaurant during our stay in Bristol.My wife and I found it fascinating
That we could choose food from 7 different continents under one roof.During our prescribed
Time slot we were able to eat as much as you like.the food was excellent,hot and very tasty.
Being from a small town in Cornwall we have nothing like this restaurant,so the visit was a treat.
Those of you who can never decide what you would like to eat,then a visit to the ZaZa Bazaar
Would make your mind up for you,as you are spoilt for choice.Make sure you give this restaurant
A try if you are ever in Bristol.You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We often go to Za Za's for special occasions and we haven't got a bad thing to say about it. They do Happy Hour offers for drinks and give you vouchers for money off your next visit.

Because it's an all-you-can-eat you can go up as many times as you want and go to all the different islands. There's an island for American food, British food and Indian food and so on.

I tried the fish curry and it tasted much nicer than the actual concept. They also did scallops although were imitation ones and were actually skate fish but still were nice nonetheless.
One thing we did like, hands down, was the chocolate fountain and ice-cream machine where you can help yourself at each of them. What I tend to do is dip my bowl into the chocolate fountain and I'm left with lots and lots of hot milk chocolate!! Naughty or what? *smacks hand*. I should be the size of a house by now!! But seriously this is a place where you can go completely nuts with your food and be as creative with it as you want.

It's also nice to view the floating harbour depending on where you're seated and on one occasion we saw the Matthew sail by which made our visit all the more special.

Good job guys! :) x

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Za Za Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Za Za Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Za Za Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.