We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Disappointing Apartment & Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus

Save Saved
You added Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1a Quakers Friars, Bristol BS1 3DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location, Disappointing Apartment & Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Quakers Friars apartment 2/13.
Family trip for 6 days .Booked based on the web-site presentation and reviews. This apartment was missing basic essentials like a plug for the sink to wash dishes, mop (no head) & brush for the floor. Carpets in the bedroom were stained with a trail of shower gel and other marks. En-suite shower drain was restricted/blocked, the toilet flush mechanism needed a cardiac chest compression to work and the pungent smell of poor plumbing was truly something.
A small army of cleaners and a maintenance engineer came to the apartment after I informed the manager of my disappointment and the faults. They told me they knew about the faults and carpets but neglected to rectify it or tell me prior to my arrival.
Advice was sought on car-parking prior to arrival but non was given except check the web-site, which was basically a link to the most expensive parking. 6 days cost over £120 based on their advice.
Location was excellent but bear in mind this company welcomes all comers and that includes party's (stag, hen and groups) so expect noise until the early hours on the weekend. They don't enforce their quiet policy. Great if you're a party but not if you're a family.
Overall a disappointing experience from a company claiming a premier standard. Ironically, the manager informed the apartment met 'their' 4 star rating. Wonder if the same would be said by the AA/RAC or any other independent body.

Room Tip: Inspect the room while the rep is there. They tend to take you to the door and disappear. Car-parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review Paul, It was disappointing out of the all the guests we have welcomed so far in August to hear that you were not satisfied. As you know we did try to rectify all issues when brought to our attention three days into your stay. As part of our ongoing improvement plan we are planning to upgrade all our carpets to a more resilient hotel quality product soon.

I was confused regarding your comments regarding the website we recommend for parking options as it lists all parking within Bristol including the one you yourself have recommended. Overnight parking on can be found from a little as £2. As there are so many options dependent on arrival and departure times we find this site very useful.

We have many locations across Europe and although our Cabot circus apartments haven't been rated by a professional body as of yet they do meet the standards assessed in all our other locations.

Regards
Justin Bedford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location, its lacated in shopping centre but no air conditioner, during the day is hot, can't stay in the room, wifi is chargeable with minimum rate but not working for months according to staff.
Clean, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Bristol Cabot Circus Apartments. We have had unusually good weather this summer and wouldn't normally require Air Con over in the UK. At the time of your stay we did indeed have issues with getting our WiFi provider to offer a stable service. We do apologise for this and have been working hard to resolve an underground cabling issue in the area.

Regards,
Justin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The apartments are in a nice part of Bristol and very central with shops just outside and the harbour side a short walk away. They were spotless but not used that often as it was a bit dusty and everything was brand new. Bit noisy at night and very light due to Cabot Circus being lit up all night and the massive gym over the road is pratically in your window. Loads of room in the apartment but I didn't sleep well. I couldn't help thinking it was a bit like a place where a prostitute would be taken for the weekend. But it's a damn sight cheaper than a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your last stay with us. Our apartments span the whole of the Quakers Friars area of Cabot Circus, we are happy to accommodate requests away from the gym. The apartments that have closer facing buildings have been especially fitted with Blinds as well as good quality curtains to offer privacy. I'm a little unsure as to your second to last comment and unsure what would lead you to think this however i would welcome you contacting me to discuss.

Regards,
Justin Bedford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked these apartments for a hen weekend – we had three two-bed apartments and two -one-bed apartments. All five were to a very high standard with all the equipment we needed and the bride-to-be was very happy. The apartments were great value for money too. The location is superb, right in the city centre by lots of restaurants (I recommend Piccolinos) and the big Cabot Circus shopping centre. Parking was also easy, although we did our own research as the NCP is very expensive (£20 per day) but the Galleries shopping centre car park is much cheaper and close by so I recommend parking there.
My only criticism is that the reception is very hard to find! But I called the number on the booking form and was given directions by a very nice lady, and then met by a member of staff outside. The £250 deposit on each apartment was worrying me before the event, but when I asked about it they said they'd only take one charge of £250 for the booking rather than £1250, which was a relief! I had to pay on a debit card on the Friday but the money was back in my account on the Tuesday so it wasn't a bit issue.
All in all I think the apartments were great and would definitely recommend the Cabot Circus location to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus. I was sorry to read you found getting to us a little difficult. We have now updated our signage to help with this and provide a map with all confirmations.
Hope all goes well for the brides big day and hope to see you again soon.
Regards,

Justin Bedford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We thought the apartment was fantastic and a great alternative to a hotel room. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a seperate kitchen/lounge and bathroom. The furniture and finishing is very stylish. The kitchen has a cooker, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. The location is excellent overlooking a quiet square. We were not disturbed at all by any noise. The apartment was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Really cannot criticise it at all. Very good value for money. This was the first time we had tried an apartment but I would definitely return. Booking in was very straightforward. Directions to the reception are provided (actually just a table in a foyer but perfectly adequate) and we were quickly shown to our apartment which was in a nearby building. The only issue we had was that NCP no longer offer the £35 7 day parking ticket but we managed to park on the street 10 mins walk away.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in depth review of your stay at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus. We are going to be furnishing our reception/greeting area shortly to make it a little more welcoming. In terms of parking we do recommend a website that offers info on all car parks – unfortunately I can’t post it here but would recommend calling us in advance.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,

Justin Bedford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great apartments, a fully functional kitchen, washer/dryer, an dishwasher there are dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid provided. The apartments look over the Cabot square, ours looks over at brasserie blanc and we are lucky to have an ensuite room with a walk in wardrobe. We have also stayed at the redcliffe, but this is much better in my opinion.

Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review of your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your time at out Cabot Circus Apartments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Justin Bedford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 with my family. We booked a family unit with 2 bedrooms via the internet. However, upon arrival, we were told that the unit had a leakage problem and was not available. Instead, we were given 2 units of 1 room apartment. We were told that the units are next to each other which was true but the distance between the 2 units was about 40ft !
The units were functional and clean. Beds were comfortable and the kitchenette facilities were adequate. However, some of the items were not operational, including the knob of the shower mixer in one of the bathroom which was detached. The walkway along the units was dark since it was not lighted up. It did not help that there was a group of people which was shouting and banging on the doors of every unit in the evening. I believe they were just young people having a bit of fun but it was pretty disturbing, especially when we have to move between our 2 units regularly.
Location is excellent as it is right in the middle of Cabot Circus shopping area. In fact, the units are all located on top of retail shops. There is a Sainsbury near the apartments which made cooking pretty convenient. There is also a public carpark just across the road.
Overall, it was just an average stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premaptsbristol, General Manager at Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this review of your stay. We unfortunately did have a serious issue with two other apartments and did have to act quickly to honour your booking however I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience. Should you like to discuss your feedback further I would be happy to hear from you.

Regards,
Justin Bedford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus

Address: 1a Quakers Friars, Bristol BS1 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Apartments Bristol Cabot Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.