We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronation Curry House

Coronation Curry House
190 Coronation Road, Bristol BS3 1RF, England
01179664569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,345 restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $24 - $56
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great authentic Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

As far as Indian restaurants in Bristol this is an excellent example.
We went as an international group, including some Indians.
Everyone loved it.
Great value too. Will return when in Bristol!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    119
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed. Don't be put off by the appearance from the outside - not the most salubrious of neighbourhoods- but the food and welcome were outstanding. The non-vegetarian coronation starter was superb shared between two. Main courses were also excellent, and drinks were reasonably priced. What sets this place apart, though, is the welcome and friendliness of all staff. Worth searching out - it took us less than 20 minutes walk from the Mercure Brigstow Hotel in the centre of Bristol where we were staying

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just another 5* review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Curry houses across Britain have become stagnant- they provide the exact same menu's and have basically stopped trying. This place has not. Interesting innovative menu, and great service. I recommend you try the vegetarian starter for two- absolutely delicious.

I was intrigued before going that this place has a couple of bad reviews, and I had wondered if the guy who said something like "people think this place is good because of the fun service, but the food is average" was correct, but he absolutely is not. He must've been really unlucky or something, because the service was only outdone by the excellent food. Maybe you need to go at 6:45pm on a Tuesday like me to get the chef's full attention, but by all accounts I couldn't possibly give this place less than 5*.

Oh and one more thing...maybe mention that you saw this place on tripadvisor and the boss might think you might give them 5* and you might get two free cheesecakes for dessert...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a lovely surprise. We walked in and all but 2 tables were reserved, lucky we arrived early. Within 20 mins the place was full. Make sure you book if you are going on a thurs, fri or sat night as you might not be as lucky as us to get a table. The meal was delightful. We didn't order a starter as we are usually so over faced with food in curry houses however regretted this decision as we could have eaten more as it was just so tasty and we had walked there from the other side of town. The staff were lovely, super friendly and very informative about the dishes. I would certainly go again and would recommend to anyone.

Really made our trip.

Thank you

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Legendary food with legendary staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I decided to try out this lovely gem of Bristol under recommendation from many of my friendd and this website. Frankly the hype is worth it, I can see why this is the best curry house in Bristol!

My partner, her father (birthday boy) and I went to celebrate another fine year of being on this earth. It was an absolute pleasure. Staff are attenetive and polite and always willing to take their time to help you out, something you don't get in everyday curry houses. The food itself was beautiful and delicious. We had the non-veg and veg platter for starter just to get a taste of what the Coronation Curry House was all about and simply put, its all about FLAVOUR! The salmon tikka blew me away and the onion onion bhaji's were delicious. The main meal was epic as well serving spicy food with actual flavour, not just a chilli induced coma. You felt yourself battling to take another bite even when you were full!

I can't say enough about the food or the people. Once my coffers are refilled with the sound of coins I shall be returning, for a meal or take away, to indulge my taste buds yet again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronation Curry House also viewed

 

Been to Coronation Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronation Curry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.