We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We managed to get this on a great deal in March this year. Although it is no where near the city centre, you are a 10 minute walk (or 5 minute drive) to Filton Abbey Wood railway station for quick journeys into Bristol.

The hotel was spacious and nice, staff friendly and the breakfast was the standard with the Holiday Inns.

If you can get it on a great deal, is a lovely quiet hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The team work very hard to keep a high level of service in the hotel, and will be delighted to hear your comments. I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future.
Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    181
    84
    17
    7
See reviews for
80
120
32
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night in Bristol as were just staying the night in order to go on to Bath and Stonehenge the following day. This hotel is in the north part of Bristol, not at the city center, and is a bit difficult to get to. Good luck if you don't have a GPS to follow. We did and still had to make a few attempts to get to it. It's down a restricted road as the Ministry of Defense has a large fenced property next to it.

We had a double room (note bed size in the UK is smaller than US standards). It was a bit cozy for 2 people who enjoy their space when sleeping but at least it was fairly comfortable. The room was definitely small and basic but had the conveniences of standard hotel rooms and was clean and quiet for our brief stay. The biggest complaint would be the quality of the towels and the bath gel they provide. The gel just slides right off, won't lather and it was the only soap option in the bathroom for the shower. Also the towels are incredibly rough. It was like drying off with a sheet of sandpaper. The toilet tissue and facial tissues are also incredibly then so you find yourself using more. I've never understood this, if you provide a cheap product to save money, you are actually spending more as guests have to USE more to make up for the thinness.

The room did come with free wifi and also a complimentary breakfast that had continental choices along with standard English items (sausage, baked beans, eggs).

The hotel does not serve food and there are limited restaurants close by so this is not a good location if you do not have a car. We were told there was a restaurant across the road, Frankie & Benny's that would offer a 15% discount to hotel guests, which we dined at (I do not recommend).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear smariel, Thank you for your recent review. The hotel welcomes all feedback from our guests as we are always looking to improve our service. The hotel is located north of Bristol which has easy access to the city via bus or train. The hotel has a few pubs and restaurants in the local area including Frankie and Benny's where our guests can avail of discount. The hotel beds are a standard UK double size, which may be smaller than USA sizes, I am sorry that you found the standard of bathroom items unsatisfactory, I take your comments on board and take them back to the housekeeping department.
Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is cheap. 50£/ night and you enjoy a buffet breakfast. The room 344 and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Perhaps if we had had car I would have rated it higher.

Something negative:
The location! Do not book here if you do not have car and you do not want to live a nightmare! There is no good connection with Bristol city centre and you will waste your time trying to get to some places by bus or train...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear elenvlnc, Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed the free breakfast that the hotel offers. I am sorry that you found it difficult with the location of the hotel. The hotel is situated north of Bristol. But there are regular busses into the city centre.
Thank you again for your feedback
Kind Regards,
Erica Stoodley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel does not serve dinner in the evening but there is a pub / restaurant onsite and we found the meal there to be excellent and good value. Frankies and Bennies nearby offer a 15% discount if you show your hotel keycard. The breakfast at the hotel is buffet style with the usual hot offering of sausage, beans and scrambled egg and continental fruit, yogurt, cheese, croissants and cereals. As in all these type of hotels the toaster never toasts enough the first time through, then burns it if you put it through again. The layout of the breakfast food does not logically flow and guests were constantly crossing the room from one side to the other.
The up side was the bed was comfortable, the room quiet and a good nights sleep had by all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaSenior, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback. We have recently had some changes to the layout of the breakfast area which we review regularly, taking guest feedback into consideration, to ensure that breakfast runs smoothly.
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Kind Regards, Natasha Senior - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Everything you could need for a one night stay at a great price. Staff very friendly and service was great. We were visiting family so location was ok for us between airport and them, very clean and nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Dave, Thank you for your recent review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We needed somewhere to stay overnight before I had surgery at Bristol Spire hospital. This hotel did the job. We weren't looking for any frills just a clean, comfortable room.

First off we did have some trouble finding the place and particularly how to get to the entrance but when we did arrive our check in was fast and efficient. Our room was basic - I wouldn't want to spend to much time here, a typical "chain" where everything looks the same but if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep its fine. Although we were at the front of the hotel we didn't experience any traffic noise.

Good value for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am pleased you were comfortable in the hotel; I am pleased that you felt you had value for money in the hotel and I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had stayed at this hotel before for a short break, this time it was for business, I stayed one night missed a night then 16 nights.
The rooms have been refurbished since my last stay and the colours are a lot better, that horrible blue has gone, the colours now are alot nicer. The room was comfortable and well kept,
This is a busy hotel but the noise levels were no problem and I was always able to get car parking.
The only real complaint is that there are no trays now at breakfast and you have to do several trips back and forth to get everything you want, I'm not a mornings person I just want to get what I need and get to work. Dont really know why they are doing this proberly to get people to eat less by not wanting to go up so often. Also when there was a a tray clearing point more people cleared their tables after they had finished, even though there is a clearing point most people, myself included, are not bothering meaning more work for the staff.
I mentioned this when I checked out and, I think it was Jamie behind the desk, said that I could ask for a tray if I needed one, my reply was how was i meant to know that, he said I have just told you. I was checking out! figure that one.
Bristol is an expensive city to stay in this hotel was a similar price to Premier inns in the area but better and the carparking is included in the price and staff friendly.
If you stay try a meal in The Fox Den in the car park excellent food!

Room Tip: Only one lift, if you have problems ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We always welcome our guest feedback, as a way to improve our service. We have removed our trays as a way to communicate with guests more during their stay. They are available on request, however I understand your frustration of how you were informed of this and please be assured this is not our usual level of service. If you would like to discuss this further please contact the hotel on info@expressbristol.co.uk. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Angela, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel for good value close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. The 2 modern meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North can accommodate up to 34 people and there's plenty of complimentary onsite parking for your delegates. You can log on to free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars.Wake up to a free breakfast with hot items in Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North's modern Great Room. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.