We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bristol Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bristol Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Bristol Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Padstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good location, good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed at the novotel because we have stayed before so knew it is in a good location for what we wanted to do over the weekend (gromit hunting). It was Bristol harbour festival weekend so was very very busy and did think the room prices were a bit high but no higher than other hotels in the area, plus they did do us a fantasic deal last time so we had been a bit spoilt. Room was an executive room with a sofa bed in for our 5 year old son it was a good size room and the sofa bed was huge, the bathroom was lovely and modern, no bath which dosnt bother us at all espcially as the shower was huge, Breakfast was really good, nice and hot, fresh and plentiful, we had a great stay and would absolutely use this hotel again.Just as a foot note, the gromit hunting was well worth doing, on the first day we only went on foot and managed to see about 28 gromits then on the second day after we checked out we headed home and on the way drove to some of the gromits a bit further out of town, over the weekend we managed to see 38, really really worth doing and i hope loads of people visit Bristol to see them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that everything was to your satisfaction, we hope to see you again soon even without Gromit. Gilles MATTERN, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    439
    146
    28
    21
See reviews for
217
285
95
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just back from an excellent stay, with family, at this hotel and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel the hotel was spotless, large rooms, very helpful staff and welcoming bar area. Children made to feel very welcome. Free wifi and xbox in the reception area. Excellent breakfast and convenient for most areas in Bristol.

Would definitely look to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Bristol Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Gilles MATTERN - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed twice in the last couple of months, good location 10 min walk from City Centre. Staff very friendly at the reception and restaurant. My room was basic, but good enough for a good nights sleep. Car park can be expensive, so beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Novotel Bristol. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Gilles MATTERN - Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked to stay at Novotel Bristol with my children as returning late evening/early morning to Bristol airport and wanted a hotel that had loads of good reviews. However, I put in the wrong date during online booking process. As soon as i realised I phoned to try and change the date but was told that the room was prepaid at time of booking, and non-refundable.

I understand this error was my fault (I am rubbish on computers!) but the lack of sympathy shown by the hotel for a genuine mistake left me feeling quite depressed. Although the hotel is undoubtedly good it was clear to me that the hotel's attitude to its customers is cynical and bureaucratic.

I would have understood if there were no rooms free or if a charge was made for administration to amend the booking, but to be informed that there was nothing I could do feels like a poor system. Anyway please be wary of making booking mistakes and the inflexibility of this hotel if you do!

I am a member of the accor hotels loyalty scheme, which this Novotel belongs to but would now given this experience not recommend using it or its hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry for the issues you encountered with your recent reservation at Novotel Bristol. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I hope you have already received my email response to your comments. Kind regards. Gilles MATTERN - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Thomas if that's how it's pronounced. Amazing service and all around great gent of a guy if only you could enter an establishment and meet ten of him the world would be a better place ;-) honestly I've decided to move here xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that everything was to your satisfaction, we hope to see you again soon. Gilles MATTERN, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while in Bristol for our eldest daughter's graduation. We knew a little of what to expect as we stayed at the Glasgow Novotel earlier in the month for a wedding and we felt that was an ok hotel. The Bristol hotel however proved to be very good !! Finding the hotel was easy and parking was quite straightforward. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. We upgraded to an executive room which was clean and very comfortable with extras such as faster wifi, coffee maker, slippers and robes. As we were in the middle of a heatwave the air conditioning was much appreciated and being at the back of the hotel we also enjoyed a quiet night's sleep. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and all our choices were delicious. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Novotel Bristol. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Gilles MATTERN - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night. Very good reception. I upgraded to an Executive Room for an extra £15, (Which included the £9.99 fast broadband and movies!) So I paid £79.50 for a twin room, plus £10 for parking in the underground car park.(Reasonable for Bristol)

The room was great. The upgrade got us a posh coffee machine,slippers/bathrobe and extra toiletries.
The location is great too. A ten minute walk to the city centre, and 5 minutes from Temple Meads, and St Mary's Radcliffe church.(And the birthplace home of poet Thomas Chatterton)

The big let down was breakfast. There were only 2 staff on duty at 8.15am on a Saturday. So you have to wait for a table. (Loads of tables free. But the reception lady was too busy clearing those tables, to show us to one.)
Eventually we got to sit down. But the Buffet breakfast had run out of Bacon, tomatoes and eggs. And there was no orange juice left. Also I wanted toast.So I cooked my toast in the machine. But there was no Butter or Margarine left. I waited nearly ten minutes for the butter and flora to be refilled.

This is a great hotel. The staff are brilliant. But maybe it needs a few more staff at breakfast.














This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I am sorry that there was a problem with the breakfast on this occasion but make sure that we are doing our best to get a better time schedule prevision. Gilles MATTERN - Guest Services manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bristol is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Bristol. Five minutes walk from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and in close proximity to the shopping centre and all the main leisure attractions as well as bars and restaurants in the city. With a conference suite of seven rooms for up to 200 people plus free WiFi in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. At the end of an eventful day, enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar or relax in our health suite. Onsite pay parking and accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bristol Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.