We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnighter!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bristol Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bristol Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Bristol Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bideford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ideal overnighter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here on business last week, and was very impressed with it. The reception staff were very nice & efficient, and check in & check out very good. The room was really comfortable, plenty big enough with a seating area as well as a good double bed etc. Bathroom was modern, clean, and included complimentary toiletries. The only criticism is that the towels appeared very old & thin with some frayed edges and not luxurious at all! The self service breakfast was lovely - I had fresh fruit, then smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was a pleasant surprise! Again, the staff were pleasant, and overall I can't fault it. I would have no hesitation booking again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    411
    131
    28
    19
See reviews for
203
262
89
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Bristol Novotel last week. I found the rooms to be relatively small (even compared to other Novotels). The decor looked tired and outdated. Not somewhere I'd want to stay again. The highlight of the stay was the friendly welcome I got from the staff. Reminded me of an overpriced Travelodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Asked if I wanted an upgrade to an executive room for £15 and agreed. The extra facilities including full WiFi and movies in itself justified the extra.
The room was slightly on the small side but the bathroom did include a separate bath and shower unit.
Breakfast was good, staff really helpful and friendly.
Location was perfect, only 5 mins from Temple Mead train station which is also the stop for the Airport Flyer - the airport express bus.
A comfortable 10 min walk to city centre.
Recommended and will stay again.

Room Tip: If you have an iPad you need to ask reception for an Airport Router to make connection in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, few points. 1. Some staff a bit stern in attitude not as smiley as I'm used to. 2. Allows dogs one of which barked non stop so we moved room, it literally could be heard throughout the whole floor! 3. Breakfast on the Saturday was not wait or service where as on weekday it was plus couple of items missing at the weekend, making me think the hotel values the business customers more than families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. Other travellers may be interested to know that as a result of similar comments, we have changed our policy towards dogs and regretably can no longer accept dogs into the hotel, with the exception of guide dogs for the blind. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A good hotel for business travel, car parking on the expensive side. Centrally located, room service menu is on the expensive side but all in all a good and pleasant stay. The air con in the room didn't work wHich was also the heating system so I was a bit on the cold side!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apoligies about the heating, I trust we were able to fix this for you. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very comfortable and centrally located hotel with own carpark ( charges apply). The staff were friendly, courteous and professional. The bedroom we had was clean and very quiet. We would go back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly, courteous and professional and I shall be sure to share your comments with my team. Thank you. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#18 Business Hotel in Bristol
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bristol is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Bristol. Five minutes walk from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and in close proximity to the shopping centre and all the main leisure attractions as well as bars and restaurants in the city. With a conference suite of seven rooms for up to 200 people plus free WiFi in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. At the end of an eventful day, enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar or relax in our health suite. Onsite pay parking and accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bristol Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.