We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salvatore's Kitchen

Salvatore's Kitchen
237-239 Cheltenham Road | Bishopston, Bristol BS6 5QP, England
0117 924 5879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 1,458 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Salvatore’s Kitchen is for everybody to experience real Italian family food and everything that goes with it - sharing with family and friends and enjoying fresh food made using the best quality ingredients.We want to create an atmosphere where you can bring your loved ones to relax and enjoy affordable, authentic Italian dishes - dishes that have been passed down through generations.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A great addition to the Gloucester Road. The decor is a bit '1980s Italian restaurant', but the food is really beautifully cooked, simple and real. The portions are also massive: the calzone was over 12 inches long and bulging like a giant cornish pasty. It's true that the topping on the pizzas does not reach to the edge, but the only place I've seen pizzas where it does is Pizza Hut, hardly the home of authentic Italian cuisine. This is properly authentic, including the warmth of the welcome - so warm as to be a little disconcerting for us buttoned-up English folk. The waiter, the manager and the chef all stopped by our table to check whether we were enjoying our meal. "We are, apart from the constant need to stop eating and tell you how lovely it is." The (screw-topped) wine was extremely drinkable, and the bill (£ 45 for two courses for two and a bottle of Pinot Grigio) very reasonable. A brilliant place to go for simple, delicious Italian food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    19
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Since opening II have to been to Salvatories Kitchen 3 times , the food is fantastic along with the service, the staff are friendly and really make you feel welcome. I
visit a lot of restaurants in Bristol and I have to say this is the best Italian food I have eaten. A true credit to Bristol, I will be making many returns here with my partner, family and friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Oh, dear what a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Having been regular visitors to Amici we were looking forward to our first visit to this restaurant.

Yes, it is much improved in decor, the menu is very reasonably priced, but the pizza I ordered had a very hard crust, the topping came nowhere near the edge and frankly could have been any taste you care to mention.

NEVER ever have I been to a restaurant that serves screw-top wine - we all know, and accept the mark-up such restaurants puts on wine but the bottle we received was very 'supermarket'.

Disappointed, maybe will give it one more go on a Monday when it is BOGOF and see how it goes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutly AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

im 20 and came here with my boyfriend tonight, it was absolutly gorgeous the food was sooooo good! the people were amazing and the way theyve done it out inside is spectacular, honestly really good, tasty, value, the list goes on, this restaurant deserves so much more credit!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A gem of an Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I don't tend to eat out at Italian restaurants often, preferring the array of other international restaurants in Bristol instead but we thought we'd give Salvatore's a try. We're really glad that we did and are really pleased that we now have a favourite Italian alongside our favourite Thai, Chinese, Indian etc..! The decor was fantastic and felt really welcoming and relaxing, service was fantastic, quick and attentive and the food was brilliant. Be warned against having a big lunch on the day you go as portions are very generous (esp. starters.) I had the tricolour bruschetta which was delicious but a fun idea to have the 3 types, and then seafood pasta for a main which was also very tasty. Unfortunately too full for dessert but we'll definitely go again and there were so many delicious sounding dishes on the menu to try. Really good music and ambiance too! Thanks for a brilliant meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Kitchen also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Salvatore's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvatore's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.