We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walking Bristol

Walking Bristol
Marriott Hotel at bottom of Park Street, Bristol BS1 5SH, England
07811975275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 112 Activities in Bristol
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours run Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. Walking Bristol run Free walking tours of Bristol, a stroll through Bristol's past. Starting at 11am from the Cascade Steps, a waterfall in the city centre by the harbourside. We run for 3 hrs with a stop for lunch at Pieminister. You'll see pirates, hear about Brunel, learn the dark legacy of the slave trade and wrap it all up with the greatest adventure Bristol has to tell, the story of John Cabot.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A friend and I went on the Walking Bristol tour after we had finished our university exams. I was a bit concerned that 3 hours 'walking' might be a bit much but it could't have been a more relaxing. The walking bits were leisurely and there were plenty of opportunities to stop and even sit down!
I'm a history student but my friend isn't and we both enjoyed it so it works for people with all levels of interest, and knowledge of Bristol. Even though we'd been to lots of the places that we visited before, it was brilliant to get some insider knowledge about places that I walk past all the time.
Our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable - he answered all my questions! And the lunch stop at Pieminister was so good that I went back the following week!
Well worth doing, especially because it's free!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
“A Blast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a such a good time. The tour was really fun and the tour guide was super energetic and enthusiastic the entire time. I feel like this was a great way for me as a study abroad student to get to know the city and its culture. I definitely recommend this to everyone but especially exchange students.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

A good time - really enjoyed it. very enthusiastic guide

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for your support. Hope you continue to make the most of Bristol.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had an amazing tour today - our guide was enthusiastic, informative and engaging. I am going to ensure all my guests to Bristol take this tour and recommend it to others.
Brett, Tutor.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Walking Bristol; something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Walking Bristol is a unique, entertaining and accessible tour run by friendly, enthusiastic guides whose dedication can be no more evident than in the fact that they give up their free time to share their passion for Bristol's past with no financial gain in mind.
I cannot recommend it enough, having learnt more about Bristol's history in those three hours than during the rest of my year here in Bristol. The tour is a brilliant way to spend your Saturday lunch time and has something for everyone, be it the weathered Historian, keen explorer or Bristolian with a newly-kindled interest for the varied history of the city you may have lived in your whole life.
Time flies by as the guide draws you into Bristol's quirky past through engaging story-telling sprinkled with historical facts, audience participation and further recommendations of ways to get the most out of Bristol. The tour is not an exhaustive history of Bristol, rather an exploration into the lively yesterday of this beautiful city and how it grew into the blooming culture we see today.
Take along some cash for the lunch stop at St. Nicholas' markets (discounted Pieminister lunches for groups of more than 8) and check the weather forecast in the morning, you might need a raincoat - this is England, after all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Bristol also viewed

 

Been to Walking Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walking Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.