We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Sugar House | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I went to hotel du vin in a business dinner.

The decoration of the place is very nice, and it looks like you are going to get one of the best meals in Bristol. We ordered food that sounded magnificent from the description, but in reality was quite simple, and with nothing special. The quality of the food was good, but it wasn't as good or sophisticated as it should be for the price. The service was fine, a bit slow but not too bad: in a place with these prices you expect them to give you a very nice experience wich was not really there.

I was asked to recommend a wine for the table, and as I am originally from Barcelona, I took a look to the spanish wines that I knew. I was just about to recommend a "Marques de Caceres" gran reserva, when I realized it was 90 pounds a bottle! That is really a rip off. this wine is nice, but nothing special, you can find it in most spanish supermarkets for less than 18 euros, or around 22 pounds in specialized wine stores in the UK. And it's not a rare wine with some special taste discovered by a wise sommelier (which could explain the big difference of price), actually it is just a mass-produced good standard rioja wine that you get when you don't know anything about wines because you know that everybody will like it, that's it.
At the end we ordered a wine from California, it was 30 pounds a bottle, and just ok: not a lot of body or taste.

I don't recommend this place unless you want to pay a lot of money for ok food and get a non-special wine for 5 times its price in the store.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    182
    63
    25
    18
See reviews for
47
333
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at HDV for the first time even though we come from Bristol! We got upgraded to the Pommery Suite which was fantastic, huge room with mezzanine level which includes a roll top Bath and huge double shower! Yeh it's pricey but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here as a little get away with my partner and it was fantastic, we stayed in the veuve cliquot room which was absolutely beautiful, staff kindly offered to show us to our room and were very helpful. We had a huge bed, 2 plasma tvs, 2 baths, monsoon shower that could fit at least 10 people in it, plenty of towels, mini bar was well stocked, my partner had ordered flowers and chocolate covered strawberries on arrival which were lovely. We had a table booked in the bistro for 8pm and were promptly shown to our seats, starter, main and dessert were all bought out quickly, all the food was beautifully cooked and both me and my partner were completely satisfied with our meal. In the morning breakfast was just as good with a wide choice of cereal or cooked breakfast on offer and also a wide choice of drinks on offer, the fresh orange juice was nice and refreshing. After breakfast we had a quick checkout with no fuss. Will defiantly be returning for another relaxing night at the HDV

Room Tip: Stay in the veuve cliquot room it's beautiful, very spacious and has 2 roll top baths, wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for a mid week Birthday treat. I would highly recommend the professional and friendly service of the staff, the ambiance and the quality of the food. Any hiccups (there are always some) were more than adequately and expediently compensated for. My only gripe was the noise from the room above, purely down to the floorboards I might ad. We should have asked to change room but I think the excellent wine on night one aided my rest. On a return visit I would ask to be situated where this is not of issue but the overall experience was pretty outstanding. Many thanks

Room Tip: Ask about the floors in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here again in March and had a fantastic time. The service is the restaurant and bar was great. We had some cocktails in the bar before deciding to order room service later in the evening. The food we ordered was delcious and arrived very promptly. Love the choice of food and drinks in the mini bar and as we had a delux room, we could enjoy the roll top bath whilst being really lazy and watching the TV !! Room had everything you could ever want, including a coffee machine which was a nice touch. Beds were fantastically comfortable which allowed for a very restful sleep. Breakfast has a fantastic choice of hot / cold options - you certainly won't leave hungry. Overall, our bill was rather high (as we had enjoyed one too many drinks) but it was well worth it for a self pamper day / night. Would definitely return for special ocassions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited the restaurant without booking on the off chance they would have a free table, i was accommodated with no fuss. From the time i entered the restaurant the waiting staff made sure i was well looked after without any fuss.

The restaurant food is of excellent quality and is well worth a visit, highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went to Hotel du Vin, Bristol last week with my Mum for an afternoon tea, and we weren't disappointed! We had a choice of teas, a lovely selection of fresh sandwiches, fruit tarts, warm chocolate brownies (to die for!!) and fresh, warm scones with clotted cream and jam. Wow! Waiting staff were great, very attentive but not too over bearing, as they can often be in high end places. We were left to our own devices and were able to enjoy our surroundings as well as the food. As with all HdV's, this one is a unique property, architecturally quirky and a lovely place to relax, with nice artwork on the walls and funky planters throughout. The bar was very well stocked, which is always good, and the music ambient. I would definetely recommend the bistro for food, drinks and a high tea. Only small criticism would be that in the lounge area, i.e. not formal dining, the proportions of the comfy leather chairs to tables seem slightly wrong! I would prefer to be eating off tables rather than wooden trunks, but hey it adds to the quirky vibe, I guess!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.