We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Regency Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Regency Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   40 - 44 St Pauls Road, Bristol BS8 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 Bristol B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not recommended.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The room was generally clean, but a dead wasp greeted me on the bedside table. I can cope with that, but less with the fact that it was still there the next day, after housekeeping had revisited the room.

The shared bathroom was very small and the tap was fixed on the wrong side, so you have to bend over to actually clean yourself.

The TV was weird: after about two minutes, it kept crackling.

The sound from the street was loud and very present.

The worst, though, was the fact that I could hear my neighbor turning around in his bed and snoring.

On the bright side, staff was friendly and forthcoming, and the location isn't bad.

All in all, I would say they should bring their rates considerably to make this a real budget hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back and with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    42
    14
    25
See reviews for
17
38
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very nice, a wonderful staff, kind and friendly, the beds are comfortable, soft towels, clean rooms and bathrooms, even the bathroom shared with other guests. It's close to the biggest attractions, lot of pubs, restaurants, shops around the hotel, a nice and cheap place to stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This recently refurbished hotel is in a great location in Clifton - walkable to the city centre for those so inclined, and to more local pubs and restaurants. Bedroom good - bathroom a bit small but works fine. Breakfast (temporarily continental only at the time) was very good. Did not try the bar. On street parking ok- on our day at least. Staff were friendly- I asked to see the room before finally committing- having had a string of disasters at Bed and Breakfast establishments! We insisted on a quiet rear facing room, so cannot comment on traffic etc at front. Nice dark curtains in bedroom to cut out light. Worked out how to fill kettle from the basin tap via a cup. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is nothing more than average. it offers nothing special, and in my opinion is over priced for what it provides. We managed to park at the front in one of its 4 spaces, so that was a bonus, but there is plenty of on street parking nearby. The room we had was a family room, so we had a little extra space. it was clean but the bathroom smelt damp and musty as the window was screwed shut and there was no extractor fan. The room had the usual and expected mod cons. Breakfast was £6 for a buffet continental style, nothing special but adequate.
i would look at other hotels before staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as we were in Clifton for a wedding, and on the whole The Regency was a good choice. Friendly service on arrival - and helpful too as our room did not have hot water to begin with, but this was quickly rectified. The room itself was adequate, but the shower was way too low and could not be adjusted - OK if you are a dwarf I guess. Beware there is no lift if you are on the top floor!

Charging £6 for tea and toast at breakfast was overpriced - there are better Full English Breakfast options nearby, including the Clifton over the road for a fiver.

The hotel could be improved with just a few more modern touches, but you can't really complain about the price for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On arriving at 10.30pm (I had said it would be a late arrival) they'd obviously used up their quota of warm welcomes for the day. A pretty rude manager glared at me (I think I interrupted something more interesting on their computer screen as she seemed somewhat reluctant to look up) when I enquired about parking, and despite there clearly being 2 spaces outside the front of the hotel on the forecourt, I was told I couldn't park there. I tried to be nice about it, but when I was told I was to drive up and down the packed streets to find a car parking space I wasn't best pleased. On finding one and returning to check in, the same manager enquired if I'd found one - maybe I was tired or maybe it was the way she said it, but I thought this was pretty antagonistic and rude! When I retorted in a similar tone, I was told I was rude and I should apologise? Really? Seriously? Wow. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebbw vale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

arrived early,lady at reception let us park in front,but as we were leaving for the wedding we were attending,the manager came out demanding that i move my car.I explained that we did not want to move it later,but she was very rude,refusing to listen to me.Later on that day on our return,we were given the card for our room,which was number 339,which i thought was a bit pretentious as there were clearly not that number of rooms.the room was small,but cosy,even though there was no proper shower,just an extension shower from the bath tap.all in all rather expensive as no breakfast included in tariff,very limited facilities and a narrow stairway made carrying cases hard work.manager could not have been ruder,she reminded me of a chained up guard dog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regency Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Bristol Hotel

Address: 40 - 44 St Pauls Road, Bristol BS8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Regency Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.