We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington to your Saves list
The Wellington
Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in The Wellington after a work event in Bristol. The location was great, close enough to the city centre that it was only a short and cheap taxi ride away, yet far enough out that you weren't woken by traffic noise. The service was excellent and very personal - really felt that they cared. The room was great, nice and airy. For the bargainous price this stay was perfect and I couldn't have asked for better. Really nice cup of coffee in the morning when I was feeling worse for wear. Also, check out the huge shower cubicles!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi SadieVee,

Sounds like you enjoyed your stay... So glad to hear, and thanks for posting your review!

I'm just tucking into a cup of the lovely coffee now :)

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
19
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great pub in good location, very friendly staff, good gastro pub food and great selection of real ales. Nice breakfast in the morning. Room clean and modern with a fantastic shower, will stay again when in Bristol area. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi tooheys44,

Thanks for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & we'll look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

To go into the rooms to let, you go into the pub, there is someone always available for the guests though, but it is uncomfortable and it is not clear when you book it, and then there are the stairs narrow and it is wrong if you carry luggage. And last but not least no closet to hang you clothes in, only wall mounted hangers. The rooms were clean and neat, the wifi works only in the pub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi JaneAthens,

I am so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. The hotel rooms were refurbished to a high standard only a year ago. We feel they are absolutely amazing and are fully equipped for todays traveller. Beds are to a very high standard, flat screen, large showers, baths in some rooms and freshly ground coffee awaits in every room.

Wi-fi has been playing up I am sorry to say however we are in the process of upgrading our telecoms. I will keep you all posted!

Please do get in contact to let us know when you stayed and to give anymore feedback, what were the staff like? Did you eat with us or use our garden?

We do hope you'd consider staying with us again.... Just call ahead to discuss any additional needs.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Room was great ,en-suite was even better with great food and service, just like being at home, all you need after a long day at work.a great atmosphere all round.Would recommended for short breaks or long stays as staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Cgdupuy35,

Thanks for your review, sounds like a good all round successful visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here a couple of time on previous visits to Bristol we chose to book an overnight stay this week when work took us both back to the area. The room we had was newly redecorated, fantastic shower in the bathroom! Bed was very comfortable and room was cosy. The only down side was the stairs to the top floor was very steep, not an issue for us but may be if you had mobility issues, although the staff did offer help with bags on arrival. We ate in the pub, service was friendly, staff couldn't have been more helpful and food was great! All in all a good choice, great price at £79 for the room. We will stay again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi S T,

Thank you so much for reviewing us and what a great review it was. The hotel rooms as you point out are incredible. I think most are pleasantly surprised when showed to their room. Head chef Will takes great pride in his kitchen & freshly prepared food, and out front our staff are encouraged to be the best they can.

Breaking news which I'm happy to be able to share on your review..... We will hopefully be investing in the decor of the pub & restaurant this year which we're all very excited about! I can't divulge too much but it should dramatically enhance the already fantastic character of this site.... Watch this space.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As a family, we ate a Sunday lunch in The Wellington about 18 months ago, and really enjoyed it. However, this wasnt the case this last weekend. Whilst the service was pleasant it was very slow. The food definitely wasnt as good as it had been the time before, and we also felt it was quite expensive, and not very good value.

I had the Macaroni cheese which was pretty standard, and I felt expensive for £8.95. It was accompanied by a fairly uninteresting salad.My husband had the pork, which was extremely fatty, and he couldnt eat much of it. Again the roasts which my husband and other members in our party had were accompanied by extremely dull vegetables.

All in all we didnt find the standard of the food merited the prices there. I think we will return to the Royal Oak next time, we want a Sunday lunch out.

We came away feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Budd,

So so sorry to hear your upset regarding your last visit. What concerns me more is, was this dealt with at the time of your visit? If not then our apologies, we always aim to see our guests leave satisfied and if we missed our cue that you weren't happy we'd love to see you again and hopefully make it up to you.

I'd love to stress to all guests past, present & future. Please please if you are unhappy at the time of your visit, do let us know there and then as if it's not quite right, we want to fix it. We feel thats the true way to customer satisfaction. Making good the occasional shortfall.

If you decide to return just ask to speak to any of the managers and we'll be happy to look after you.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If 'gastro' in the name is an excuse to hike up the prices then here is a fine example. Location, service and atmosphere are great but £4.30 for a pint of premium lager and £8.95 for a macaroni cheese is pretty steep. Tasted good but doesn't make me want to rush back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Alister C,

4 stars is great but you were clearly unhappy about our offering. I am sorry.

I don't know about the term 'gastro' to describe us and I don't think we use it anywhere in our marketing however we do aim to be top of the pub/restaurant/hotel market with well kept ale, freshly prepared food and impeccable hotel rooms.

The premium lager you picked was Budvar, the original Budweiser from the Czech Republic and having visited the brewery and understanding the passion, quality & heritage of the product I would stick up for the price we charge. We do sell a range of lagers and beers starting at £3.10 a pint. You just happened to pick top quality and the dearest. Introduce yourself if you pop in again and any of our staff would be happy to run you through our products.

Thanks for reviewing and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.