We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington

Save Saved
You added The Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wellington
Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 83 Bristol B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the outside this hotel is very sweet. Upon entry one discovers it is a pub with lounge downstairs and rooms upstairs...more akin to an inn. The pub itself is as good as pubs go, however it is the hotel rooms that make this hotel outstanding, along with excellent customer service from the staff. Adam, one of the staff, insisted on carrying luggage to the room and offered a brief explanation on sound proofing and the recent refurbishment of the rooms.
Beautifully tiled bathrooms with all the little extras [including cloths!!!]. Absolute luxury and so exquisite.

If there was one thing I could suggest to make this hotel a cut above the rest [as all the extras provided are over and above what other hotels, including The Crowne Plaza, provide] is a hair drier! This is something all other hotels provide and when one is travelling light a hair drier would be lovely.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for the customer service alone. My boss and other colleagues were staying in the hotel the same night as I, and my boss got lost trying to find the hotel. I explained this to Adam, who promptly called my boss and guided him to the hotel. Over and above the call of duty! Thank you Adam for making my stay at 'The Welly', as I believe the locals call it, the most pleasant experience I've ever had in a hotel, bar none.

Room Tip: all rooms are sound proofed so all as good as one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. We are proud of our customer service at The Wellington and we always try to exceed our guests expectations. We do have hairdryers available on request and I will make sure this is made clear upon check-in in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on business. The staff are all lovely (especially Adam and Holly). The rooms have all been recently refurbished and are very comfortable and clean. The food is top notch - we experienced an evening meal and breakfast, both of which were excellent. The public bar areas are a little tired and would benefit from refurbishment. This didn't spoil our stay here. We would return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments. All feedback is important to us and always passed on to the team. We are extremely glad you enjoyed The Wellington. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed on the Saturday night over the August Bank Holiday, in the king-size room.

The room was £89, which was a competitive rate for the area. We were slightly disappointed to find that breakfast wasn't included in this price, however, as it was not obvious in the initial quote that this was a room-only rate... and the resident's breakfast menu, found online, was part of what tempted us! The ‘free’ internet access was slightly misleading too, as it was only actually free for an hour a day, apparently.

The Welly was easy to find and had accessible parking to the rear of the pub. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming & helpful. We were shown upstairs to our room on the first floor and everything was very clean and fresh throughout.

Our room was very comfortable and relaxing. All the facilities worked; we had a flat screen TV & modern kettle, with lots of tea and coffee - fresh milk provided quickly on request. There were plenty of hangers for clothes; and the en-suite was lovely, with quality toiletries and lots of fluffy towels - all very clean and well designed with a large shower that was simply heavenly!

We overlooked the front of the pub, facing onto G Road, with a well-secured door out onto the mini-balcony, as well as a lovely big sash window - double-glazed and pretty much sound-proof when shut.

The king-size bed was 'gurt lush' - squishy & supportive feather pillows and a thick warm duvet, with lovely light fresh linens. It really was very, very comfortable!

After a great night out with friends, we did find ourselves too hot during the night and had to open the window. This, unfortunately, gave us the road noise as a result, but you'd have the same problem wherever you stayed along this busy, fantastic road! Happily, we heard absolutely nothing from either the pub downstairs or other guests - wonderful!

We ate lunch there on the Saturday: sausages & mash; and ham, egg & chips. Again, good service, not too long a wait for the food, and great drinks alongside. Really nice, friendly atmosphere, and not too crowded either.

I'd definitely stay here next time we're back in Briz - and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face on to a busy road; all rooms appear to have excellent noise insulation from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We take all feedback on board and are looking into ways to make our breakfast offering clearer on all the websites that we use. We price the rooms at a room only rate in order to be flexible with those that either dont wish to have breakfast or are checking out too early to do so. I am not sure why you had issues with the Wifi. We have no restrictions on the length of use of our free Wifi. I have of course passed on your comments to our team as they are always happy to know that they have left a good impression on our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little part of the wonderful Gloucester Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Wellington’s food is okay but, unfortunately, it appears to have tried to pitch itself in both the ‘gastro pub’ and ‘traditional pub grub’ categories and, as a result, the very small menu does not sit well in either category; for example, ‘ham, eggs & chips’ versus ‘gurnard on a bed of beetroot risotto with mussels and creamy white wine sauce’. This pub, which is child friendly with an outdoor play area, would, in my opinion, be better if it focused solely on doing ‘traditional pub grub’ well. That said, the service was good and the staff were all very polite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Our aim at The Wellington has always been to provide a core menu focused on quality traditional pub favourites at their best. To accompany this we have daily specials for those looking for something slightly different. We will be launching our new menu in the next 4-6 weeks with even more classic dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just reviewing the restaurant here not the hotel. I've been a customer at the bar many times but never the food. Pleased to say I've finally broken the habit. We had a great meal on a busy Saturday night. Service was generally prompt and friendly, the barman bringing the drinks could maybe have been a bit more friendly. Having witnessed the home made pies going out I was deternined to try one - portion size and look was enough to attract me! We had one for two and it was plenty and more importanly absoulutely delicious. If we had it again I would probably order an extra side of veg and probably a gravy would be welcome, although loads in the pie. Great evening!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. Look out for our new menu coming soon with new and improved pies. Also, why not pop in for our pie and pint day every tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Recently refurbished, and it shows. Great rooms and really quiet. We stopped the evening England played Sweden and the pub was packed but we heard nothing in our room (8). Food excellent and all the staff friendly and willing. Would stop again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. A lot of effort was put into the sound proofing of the rooms during the refurbishment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

just come back from a weekend watching rugby at bristol and stayed here - the welly. it is lovely - all the bedrooms have been completely refurbished and everything is brand new - bed/ decor/bathroom and it was fantastic. the staff were so helpful and friendly and we ate there on sat evening and that was excellent as well. there are one or two old reviews which were put there obviously before the refurb - so if you are thinking of booking - do it - you will not be disappointed. and the bus stop is right outside and you go into the city centre - it is an excellent and frequent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments. We are very proud of our refurbishment and our service. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.