We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise as much improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester The Snuff Mill

Harvester The Snuff Mill
207 Frenchay Park Road, Bristol BS16 1LF, England
01179566560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,059 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At The Snuff Mill Harvester in Bristol food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Bristol, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Downend, Fishponds and Filton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise as much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This Harvester is a few minutes from our home and one we used for many years. Over time food quality diminished and staff appeared to be expected to do the impossible. We recently decided to give it another go as it had been closed for a much needed refurbishment. We were pleasantly surprised and have even made another visit. Staff friendly and helpful. Surroundings were CLEAN and tables and floor not littered with dropped food or spilt drinks. Our meals were hot and well presented. Salad cart looked as if someone cared about it and all sections were full. I spoke to the present manager and passed on our thanks but it appears he is moving on. Hopefully the next person will try to keep up the standard and we can then confidently recommend the Harvester once again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester The Snuff Mill and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    28
    23
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This is not a top end restaurant. It's plain simple food at a very good price with as much free salad as you want. The salad kart is by far the best part of going there but I always just have the same meal in all fairness simply chicken and stuff myself with salad. It is a plain simple concept which works very well. Food plain yet good and you can fill up on a great salad with good choices and a cheap desert option also. I love it, does exactly as it says on the tin!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Snuff Mill. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't book your Christmas do here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us booked our Christmas meal for 8.30pm having ordered our meals in advance. We were dismayed to find that they had run out of pre ordered food. All of our meals came out at different times and they forgot 1 if our meals altogether leaving 1 person to eat alone. When we asked how long it would take for delayed food we were told 'it's on it's when babes' with no apology. We had to remind them to provide crackers and there was nothing at all 'Christmassy' in the atmosphere. Eventually desserts arrived at 10.45pm. Dreadful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Snuff Mill. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“As Harvesters go, this is a pretty good one...great service, good food and a very good setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Snuff Mill is a Harvester Chain pub/restaurant on the Frenchay Park Road, a mile or so into Bristol from the Frenchay Hospital. A small(ish) car park at the front of the pub should do for all but the busiest times, at which point there's plenty of on-road parking available nearby.

Outside the pub isn't anything to write home about, but upon entering you are confronted by a large open area, segregated into smaller dining areas (which help cut down sound from adjacent areas, which is unusual for Harvesters) with an indoor fountain and large fish pond as a central attraction (which is definately unusual for Harvesters!!) - pretty cool really, and definitely a step up from your usual run of the mill (excuse the pun) pubs.

The restaurant was half full when we arrived, and the staff were attentive and great with the kids. Other reviewers have clearly been here when the restaurant has been full and it's difficult to judge how well the staff would cope with more than twice as many punters - however, my experience was very good.

Despite some 'demanding' changes made to the menu choices by my brood, which were all taken in the waitresses stride (and subsequently served 100% correctly), the food arrived quickly and spectacularly hot....so there had been no waiting around under hot-lamps on the 'pass' in this restaurant. The salad bar was well stocked and clean'n'tidy...the only criticism is that some rolls were a little stale and I'm guessing that the roll basket is 'topped-up' rather than replaced with fresh- consequently, the rolls at the bottom get progressively older, and more-stale as a result - a small criticism that is easily remedied (over to you Snuff Mill).

Overall, a good experience....great service, good food and a very good setting. As TripAdvisor reviews go, this place has the widest spread of reviews that I've seen....so I suspect that consistency of standards may be an issue. However, I'm going to be optimistic and suggest that my visit demostrates that they've taken the criticism on-board - this was one of the better Harvesters that I've visited, and I've done a few!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester Snuff Mill and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have eaten here for over 20 years and as far as I can remember I/we have not had a bad meal.

Recently it has been a weekly occurrence and the current staff are all very friendly and show concern for your approval.

The menu has changed slightly and a few minor price increases but that is to be expected.

One of the best Harvesters around and one of the best pub menu's around too.

Not quite late night but we have been seated after 9pm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester The Snuff Mill. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester The Snuff Mill also viewed

 
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to Harvester The Snuff Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester The Snuff Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.