We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mums can cook it better, no sweat!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester The Snuff Mill

Harvester The Snuff Mill
207 Frenchay Park Road, Bristol BS16 1LF, England
01179566560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,059 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At The Snuff Mill Harvester in Bristol food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Bristol, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Downend, Fishponds and Filton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Mums can cook it better, no sweat!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I cannot believe how easy it is for this place to make a mistake out of fairly simple food!!
Came here with some friends and we had chicken & ribs, trio of chicken and a beef burger. The ribs were a tad overcooked, making them chewy, the chicken was an extremely small portion and a bit cold. The trio of chicken you could have bought from Iceland and done it at home. The burger, bog standard again and a little overcooked. The chips are ALWAYS lukewarm every time I have visited. The salad bar however, is good, fresh with plenty of choice. The rolls are always fresh also.
It's a shame because it is a lovely setting with the pond and everything. The service is always nice and friendly too.
The big cheeses up at HQ need to get their kitchen staff organised. This could so easily be sorted out if the food was cooked to a higher standard.
I really object to paying out for a meal when I can cook it easily and better at home and most Mum's I think, will agree??

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the Snuff Mill. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    28
    23
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Never been good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been here years ago and the salad bowls at the salad bar looked like they had all been used, so it put me of going back. I was hungry after a hospital appointment because I had to fast before, so went here for a meal. salad bar ok but not much choice but you can eat as much as you want. My burger was average and nothing special. Only good thing was that the staff were nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvester Snuff Mill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“We will not be going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten at this Harvester. I wasn't impressed the first time because the chicken was overcooked and bone dry, but we thought we would give it another go.
We won't be going back.
I didn't have chicken because of last time. We had ribs starter but they were very fatty and couldn't eat some of it. The mash was not very nice with our main meal and the salad was tasteless. The Thatchers cider also didn't taste right, I even left half a pint it was that bad!
We won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Snuff Mill. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

nice standard food...
visited whilst on our weekend away..
only downfall was I had a pushchair and was asked to go up lots of steps, without any help..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Snuff Mill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I eat in different Harvesters quite regularly. We went as a group of 4. Upon arrival we was asked to wait 20 minutes. This was perfectly acceptable but they wouldn't allow us to order drinks and put it on the tab. So we waited to be seated. The décor was nice with a little pond inside.

The salad cart was low on food. I kept going back to check but something was always empty.

The main dishes were burnt. Not severely but to the point that any sauce had be burnt and dried. The rack of ribs looked more like half a rack compared to any other harvester i have eaten at.

I will not be returning to this Harvester again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
The Snuff Mill Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester The Snuff Mill also viewed

 
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to Harvester The Snuff Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester The Snuff Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.