We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin! Chin! Bar & Kitchen

Chin! Chin! Bar & Kitchen
155 St Michael's Hill, High Kingsdown / Cotham, Bristol BS2 8DB, England
0117 973 93 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: British, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I came here just before Christmas for a yearly gathering with friends. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere with a nice bohemian feel. It was a very busy night for the restaurant with a couple of large parties and our service suffered slightly because of this, but I think this may have been the same of anywhere. It was however noticeable that there were only 2 staff on duty and they were tearing around like mad men! Both staff were very friendly and charming throughout.

We were all very happy with our food and the portion sizes were largely adequate. I struggled slightly with the dessert menu and settled for the crumble which could have been better. By and large our experience was a positive one and we are all keen to revisit. Chin Chins have introduced a loyalty card scheme which does help!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    63
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A meal of two halves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ate here with my wife for a small celebration dinner out. We'd heard good things about Chin! Chin! and it's always highly rated on TA so we had high hopes for our meal. The restaurant was rammed when we arrived (another good sign) and had a really great atmosphere. For starters I opted for the rabbit terrine and my wife chose the beetroot salad. The terrine was very good although it could have done with more to put the rabbit on to (bread or crackers or whatever) but that seems to be commonplace these days. The beetroot salad on the other hand was a bit of a disappointment. In my book, if you call something a beetroot salad the main component should be beetroot. You wouldn't order a tomato salad and expect to receive a bed of leaves with a single cherry tomato in the middle. Unfortunately that was what arrived. It was more mixed salad with some beetroot in it (3 slices) than anything else. Shame, still hopefully the mains would be better. I went for the braised pork belly which was fantastic, perfectly slow cooked, deliciously melt in the mouth. My wife went for the smoked haddock. The haddock comes in a cockle sauce but the waiter explained that they didn't have any so the sauce would be smoked salmon. This was nice enough although a smoked sauce with a smoked fish all just ends up tasting the same. Unfortunately there were bigger problems as the fish had been cooked to within an inch of its life and so probably would have bounced if we'd dropped it. Given that it was now 2-0 to me on dish selection we decided to give up and not bother with desserts. So the food was pretty hit and miss and the service was slow and unattentive. It's a real shame really as you an see that they obviously get it right a lot of the time but fell short of the mark when we decided to give them a try. Won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top notch & versatile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Compelled to spend time in the area due to appointments at the local hospital. We ate here for breakfast, brunch, elevenses, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner! Top notch. Versatile menu through the day and the quality of dishes for dinner were top class. Inspired flavour combinations, wholesome plates and high quality cooking. We love this place and keep coming back for the friendly service and good cooking. Great work, guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed and hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went here for a colleagues leaving do, having heard good things about it, indeed they had been there for their Christmas Do and raved about it. So was very disappointed by the agonisingly slow service and minuscule portions. The pictures attached here are nothing like what we were offered.
Seated at 19:30, starters arrived just after 8, main after 9, desert at ten to Ten. Considering we had had to choose our meal before we arrived this was exceptionally poor. The portion sizes were just small. A children's portion, if that. Starter was mackerel pâté, two teaspoons served with a desert spoon of leaves and a piece of Melba toast the size of a playing card. Tasted nice enough. An hour later the main arrived, a decent size piece of pheasant, two 6cm sticks of parsnip, a desert spoon of red cabbage, and about twice as much mash potato. I went home hungry. Poor, and not to be repeated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

a lovely place! good food, nice atmosphere, good service! place worth to visit! We went here for diner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin! Chin! Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chin! Chin! Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin! Chin! Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.