We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Source Food Hall

Source Food Hall
1-3 Exchange Avenue St Nicholas Market Bristol BS1 1JW, Bristol, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 1,530 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's a fab cafe/ deli.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place for a leisurely brunch. Laid back atmosphere, friendly staff, locally sourced and home cooked food. The freshly made brioche is melt in the mouth. The deli is also worth a look for good quality ingredients. You'll pay a little more, but supermarket deli's don't come close

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“good food, well cooked and served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

loved a spacious seat in one of Bristol's St Nicholas market alleys - lots of life to watch. The fish soup and burger were tasty enough and the chips crisp enough to make me forget my diet and the less than spotless table and slightly greasy-spoon sachets of sauces.

I am told the cold Aubergine and Tomato soup and cheese board were also delicious. But, given the quality of the food, what was most delicious was the price - £28.50 for that lot (OK, we drank only tap water). When in Bristol we would definitely go again, and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Steak-a-licious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had lunch yesterday with two friends and we all had the same Hereford, 28 dry aged sirloin steak sourced from their inhouse butcher and a stunning bit of beef it was! Only minus point was no sauce bearnaise but the peppercorn sauce was very goid. Enjoyed a lovely bottle of Cote Roannaise red which is something you rarely see outside of Roanne in France and a superb alternative to Beaujolais.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic Farm to Table business. The best breakfast I have had in years. Each item was perfectly cooked and well presented. Wish we could have tried the lunch or dinner as I'm sure it would be fantastic

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Promise Delivered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Breakfast at Source was truly excellent. It lived up to its promise of superb ingredients, cooked well. Each item on the plate was of an outstanding quality. The coffee was also superb. The service was friendly - altogether a great experience on a day when the weather was dreary. Made the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Source Food Hall also viewed

 

Been to Source Food Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Source Food Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.