We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4500 miles from Delhi

4500 miles from Delhi
8- 10 Colston Avenue | Bristol, Bristol BS1 4ST, England
0117 929 2224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 1,459 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Please the Post Code is BS1 4ST
Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Really nice food, this is a one to try if you like good Indian food. It is situated diagonally opposite the Hippodrome Theatre. Service was good, varied menu with unusual dishes we hadn't heard of, but very tasty and aromatic. Would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    121
    32
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best indians in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having lived around Bristol for many years I have had my chance to try quite a few indian restaurants. I have been here a few times now as I was so impressed the first time.

The staff were friendly and helpful, very handy when there are dishes that some people may not have heard of before.

The food was the biggest thing for me though. It was great, clearly freshly prepared, modern styling and utterly delicious!

Unfortunately my tolerance for spicy food is not very high but I power through the hottest stuff i can handle because it tastes so nice.

Highly recommended. Also a fairly easy location to get to as there are various big car parks near by

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quality Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have eaten at 4500 Miles from Delhi several times in the first half of this year, whilst working in Bristol.It makes a nice change to find an Indian Restaurant that has made an effort to raise its game above the normal. The service was always polite and attentive (without being obsequious) and the food was always of highest quality - with several menu items that were a change from the usual fare. Portion sizes were sensible and I always left planning when I would get a chance to return.
Not the cheapest - but certainly one of the best.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely dinner here a few evenings ago. Unusually, we both went for vegetarian options - and there were plenty to choose from.

We started with dosa filled with a savoury potato mix, accompanied with excellent coconut chutney, and large but light vegetable pakoras. We then shared an amazing dal with pilau rice and a lovely flakey spiced parantha, and a vegetable biriani, which included paneer as well as delicately sliced vegetables and served with a fab spicy tomato sauce, salad and raita rather than the usual dollopy veg curry.

All absolutely delicious. We had no room for any pudding although we had both been eye-ing the beautiful pudding served at the adjacent table.

As others have commented - not the cheapest - but absolutely worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We went here after reading the positive reviews on here, we weren't disappointed! The service was fantastic the restaurant was very clean and modern. The food was outstanding, really tasty and good portion sizes. It wasn't cheap, but you get what you pay for! We highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4500 miles from Delhi also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to 4500 miles from Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4500 miles from Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.