We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar

Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar
76 Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6DR, England
0117 922 6688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 1,342 restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden hotel and they recommended me this Italian which was only a 5 minute walk away.It was very good with a good atmosphere and ambience about the place.I went on two occasions as I enjoyed the first visit so much,there are a few Sardinian specialities as well as dishes you would see in other Italian restaurants.The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the service was prompt and efficient.Would definitely come back if visited Bristol again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    97
    52
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disapppointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked a table for last Saturday night approximately 3 weeks ago and requested table 16 in the upstairs window as when we had been to the restaurant before we had been sat at the back and we weren't keen on sitting there again. When we arrived we were told our table was at the b ack as they change tables around and the window area we requested was set for a party of eight. We remonstrated quite vehemently but were told we couldn't sit there, so we sat at the rear. We ordered drinks while we chose our food and noticed a table being cleared in the front and they agreed we could move. Surprise, surprise the occupants of the large window table arrived and they were Italian! Now we knew why we couldn't have that table! Although our food on the whole was quite good the service was not. They said they didn't have a wine coolerit for our wine and to drink it quickly yet brought one to the next table a couple of minutes later. The large table of Italians were given the utmost attention to the detriment of other diners we will not be returning which is a great pity as it was so good before. Very, very disappointing

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We prefer this type of individual restaurant rather than the formulaic chain Italians. From the outside the restaurant is very appealling and it is this that drew us across the road dodging the roadworks, this we would not have done to a less appealling restaurant.

We called in to see if we could get a table immediately unfortunately none were available, but were told 15 mins and there would be. We took a drink next door and returned.

We were seated upstairs and benefited from the panamoric view of the street.

All the starters we good except the carpacio of beef which was rather dry as if it had been stood uncovered in the fridge.

All the mains were again good and the particular member of the party who had the carpacio said the main course redeemed the starter.

My daughter felt that her pizza could of been better with a little more cheese.

Overall a good evening out and we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A warm and cosy little find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband was working in bristol this week and asked me to come down for a couple of days, he said I have found a lovely little Sardinian restaurant, looks fab he said so off we went on Thursday evening, the staff where so welcoming, we sat up stairs ,the menu had plenty to choose from and the was full of flavour. Good prices to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited this place as it looked quite presentable from the outside and we prefer these types of Italian establishments to the more chain-orientated ones. Staff were generally good, however when not serving us they did have a laugh and a joke with each other quite loudly at the bar. Food was good but the portions were a little smaller than we had expected.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.