We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic curry house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupsha

Rupsha
3A Regent Street | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HW, England
01179739937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 1,456 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

In my opinion the best curry house in Bristol! Fantastic food, friendly service, good portion sizes and very affordable. The atmosphere is great and every time I've been has been fantastic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    100
    24
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent food, great staff, very busy that night so service a little slow but not bad. We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Bristol - by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We've had yet another great dinner at Roopsha in Clifton this evening. This restaurant is amazing in so many ways.

The flavour of the food is fabulous, we've asked in the past about the great flavours, and they use fresh spices imported from India not any pastes. The food tastes so fresh and flavoursome.

This evening we had the Murg Aloo Chat and Pani Puri starters, both excellent. The Pani Puri is a real experience and something you don't see in many Indian restaurants in Britain.

The dhansak is well recommended and is one of my favourites. The nan bread is the best I've experienced anywhere, slightly crispy on the bottom and so fresh and tasty.

The staff are always friendly and seem to really enjoy looking after their guests, and it's always finished off by a nice complimentary cocktail.

If you haven't tried it yet, do, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Service and Charming Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We've been to Rupsha twice, the first time as a result of reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The other critics are right - the food is really, really good: it's freshly prepared, creatively presented, and far from the mafia-style kitchen that you'd normally find at your local Raj. Decor-wise, it could be much-improved (at the very least, change the colour of the blue panelling, guys!) but food-wise it's spot-on. We'll definitely be revisiting in the near future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very yummy...if a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff are lovely and very friendly but the service could be quicker. Having said that the curries are very very flavoursome (although my boyfriend thought the sauces could be thicker) so probably worth the wait. The naan was freshly made and taster all the better for it. Would absolutely recommend and we shall be going back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupsha also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Rupsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.