We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Square | Clifton Village, Bristol BS8 4EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is characterful, clean & comfortable. The staff are friendly & helpful. The original room we were given was a little on the small side but when we asked for a bigger one we were given one at no extra cost. The location is great, right in the heart of Clifton and overlooking the green (& quiet) Victoria Square. Breakfast was too early for us. This wasn't a problem as there are lots of really nice cafes in Clifton village, which is about 2 minutes walk away.
We will stay here on our next visit to Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am so pleased that you were happy with the second room we offered you, thank you for letting us know so that we could move you! We are very lucky with the views the rooms at the front have of the square (particularly from the top floor of the lodge) and am so pleased you enjoyed this. From next week we are going to be extending our weekend breakfast time to 8am – 10am. Later breakfasts seem to be a very regular request so we are listening and are changing this! Thank you so much for the feedback. I hope we shall see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    67
    29
    10
See reviews for
57
98
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good room comfey bed and room warm, evening menu is small but good standard, breakfast good and staff are all friendly. Very close to Clifton so easy access to all the pubs an places to eat.

You need to chek in early if you want to park, as very limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to revisit the Victoria Square Hotel! I’m so pleased you enjoyed the return visit. Arriving early is definitely a good tip for securing car parking. We have 15 spaces that are first come first served, the local roads are also free parking. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very well located for walking across the park into the village itself.

All staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast staff were quiet but I expect because busy. Even though it was bank holiday Monday we were told the night before that breakfast would be from 7am to 9am... bit too early as we were out until the early hours at a soul do, Ashton Court Mansion. However we made it. Good breakfast but we also found tinned fruit like cling peaches strange. True there were bananas and apples on offer if you wanted them. Lovely yogurt and museli. Sausages and bacon were better than you usually get in some hotels. Lots of things like eggs which were all poached were not available when I went up, I just waited and went back after I had started my breakfast. (Again everyone came down at the latest time because of the bank hol).

Room was very clean and had a nice view of the park. We only had a standard and it was small. Just a shower, no bath. No hair conditioner so take some yourself. Only one bath towel provided each, ie no hand towels. Plenty of teas, coffee and milks. The bed was fine and we both slept well. Lots of room in the car park.

Small and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Victoria Square. I am very pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, the staff and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was well appointed and very clean. Probably the best hotel in Clifton of this size and star rating that I have stayed in. Breakfast let it down - cut up fresh fruits, rather than tinned, would have been welcome, and the toaster arrangement baffled most people (need clear instructions or a more user-friendly toaster!).The smoke alarm went off during breakfast - as the waiting staff were unphased - this is probably a regular occurrence! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback I am so pleased you found the hotel to be clean, well appointed and good value. We offer tinned prunes and peaches at breakfast, but also have fresh fruit – bananas, apples & satsumas (as of next week we will be adding plums and grapes to the fruit offering!) the fruit is from our local green grocers just across the square.
We replaced the toaster last year with a Dualit toaster as it is just one knob to turn to the desired cooking time. The toast is self service, sorry this should have been explained to you when you arrived for breakfast. All our staff have been trained in fire procedures – lesson no.1 is to stay calm so I am very pleased that they appeared unphased! Thank you for your feedback I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Three of us stayed there last night on business - great location, lovely staff and really clean comfortable hotel. My only complaint was the lack of a full-sized ironing board in the room (which was big enough for one) - it made ironing my shirt trickier than normal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be great value. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff. The ironing boards in the rooms are mini! We do have some full size ironing boards available on request – sorry we should have offered this to you! Thank you for your review – we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel we found very convenient and the staff on arrival were very helpful.
We had problems with our shower and the water barely trickled out so please do check this before you accept your room.
Overall the room was fine for one night and I am sure if we stayed in Bristol again we would stay here as the price was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed the location and found the staff to be helpful. As a 2* hotel the hotel bedrooms are very basic, and we price ourselves in line with similar hotels in the area. We offer both Standard Double & Large Doubles – the large doubles are bigger in size, and the ones in our main building enjoy dual aspect windows. I am very pleased that you would stay with us again. We have just recently done some work on the showers to fix the pressure problems. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely building in a central Clifton location. Rooms are fairly spacious, clean and comfortable although our bathroom was tiny. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Off street parking. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel clean and all the staff to be friendly – we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel

Address: Victoria Square | Clifton Village, Bristol BS8 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in trendy Clifton on a leafy Georgian square, the Victoria Square Hotel provides the perfect base for exploring the vibrant city of Bristol. Independently owned & run, the emphasis is on guest comfort. The 41 guest rooms are spread between two gracious Victorian Villas, all with en-suite bathrooms, digital TVs, welcome trays & direct dial telephones. The hotel provides: free car parking for up to 20 cars on a first come, first served basis, excellent links to public transport with regular buses to town leaving right outside of the hotel, resident's bar, cooked & continental buffet breakfast, as well as a friendly front of house team on hand 24 hours a day to assist you during your stay. Conferencing facilities are also available for up to 25 delegates, held in the light and airy Victoria Suite or the more traditional style Lodge Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.