We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clifton House to your Saves list
Clifton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a terrific 4 day stay at Clifton House. I had a spacious double room in the 'superior' side of the building, although a colleague with a double in the older side was very happy too. The shower room was spotless and the shower excellent. Breakfast was relaxed and very good quality indeed. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was allowed to leave my car until later in the day on checkout day, and then collect it when my business was finished, which as anyone who's tried to park in Clifton will attest, is invaluable.
Fantastic, I stay in Clifton a fair bit, and I won't be trying anywhere else out, this is just fine, in fact that's 'my room' now (not telling!).

Room Tip: I like space, so a tenner extra for a 'superior' room, as their better rooms are called, was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    95
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
90
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location in Clifton, plenty of parking, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast - all you want from a place to stay! On top of that, the staff are friendly and helpful which adds to the experience. I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the situation for Clifton and the ability to park your car. Our room was small - barely enough space to fit between end of bed and dressing table.Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had not been properly cleaned and I'm afraid that clouded my whole evening! No where to hang or put anything in bathroom/shower (a hook or two would help). Slight smell of stagnant water when using sink. No noise from outside but could hear people in adjoining room. Lovely to be able to open window if required and certainly no problem with heating. Breakfast was prompt and average.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back on top floor which was quiet in respect of street noise but a hike up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliftonhouse, General Manager at Clifton House, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We apologise for the inconviencience caused by this over-site from our staff, thank you for outlinning the positive apects to Clifton House and thank you for letting us know where we can improve. At Clifton House we always welcome feedback from our guests in order to improve our standards and make your stay with us next time more enjoyable. Many thanks, the Clifton House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First impressions were very good - lovely reception area and friendly staff. The double bedroom was nicely decorated but very small. We were informed that the "wet dog" smell was due to the carpet having been cleaned - unfortunately it wasn't dry and we ended up with wet socks! The space around the bed was minimal (20" my side and less at the foot of the bed as you had to negotiate the desk and chair as well) and the internal en suite bathroom measured 5' x 5'. You had to be a contortionist to apply make up due to lack of elbow room! In addition the macerator under the toilet was noisey. Not being on the main road and off road parking were the only positive points.Quite frankly I've stayed in better Travel Lodges.

Room Tip: Apparently there are larger rooms in this hotel. This wasn't obvious when we booked on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and daughters have stayed here many times before (one of our daughters studies at Bristol University). I stayed for the first time in November. The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable enough but to me, it is just a well-priced, good hotel in a great location. What makes it extra-special, taking it up a notch, is the staff. The manager, Abi, was particularly warm and helpful. Very accommodating with our needs. For as long as we have reason to visit Bristol, we will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A nice location in the university area a bit away from the major thoroughfare. An older hotel with quaint and somewhat small rooms. A pub downstairs full of college students and young business people. Good beer selections and a wide selection of pub food. Clean and safe with very reasonable prices. Good location from which to explore Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Clifton House. This time we stayed with our daughter & her family. They had the best family room I have ever seen in a hotel. Two full sized single bed & a king size double bed & there was still loads of space in the room. We had a very large room with asking size bed & separate seating area with a settee. The management as always were very helpful & friendly. All in all a lovely place to stay & only 15/20 minutes walk from the city centre.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hotel style, bed and breakfast accommodation at a fraction of the cost. With free breakfast, on site parking and wifi all included in our rates. Only a 10 minute walk away from Bristol's City Centre, Clifton Village and Whiteladies' Road and only a 5 minute walk away from the BBC and Bristol University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Bristol
Tyndalls Park Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.