We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bristol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clifton House to your Saves list
Clifton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Clifton House. This time we stayed with our daughter & her family. They had the best family room I have ever seen in a hotel. Two full sized single bed & a king size double bed & there was still loads of space in the room. We had a very large room with asking size bed & separate seating area with a settee. The management as always were very helpful & friendly. All in all a lovely place to stay & only 15/20 minutes walk from the city centre.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    95
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
90
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochdale, lancs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We used Clifton House for an overnighter to attend a graduation ceremony at Bristol Cathedral. The hotel is ideally located for the university area, Clifton village and the Cathedral, with a wide choice of shops, bars and restaurants a short walk away. Free on-site parking is a big plus given the hotel's proximity to the city centre. We found Abby the hotel manager friendly and helpful, as were other staff we met. The hotel has been well modernised in keeping with its age and style. Our room was not big but was clean and well furnished, bed was comfortable, plenty of storage space and a cracking TV. Shower flow was a bit slow but nice and hot so OK. Breakfast was fine, decent choice on the buffet and the cooked option was very good. Overall, would use again if visiting Bristol and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Go for one on a higher floor for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Manager was very welcoming for our mid week stay. It was on the third floor which was fime for us agile young things however do check what floor you are to be allocated a room on as this may be a requirement.
The room was very generous with a sitting room area and ensuite. The bed was quite low however suited our needs. The shower was good in power though quite small access point, especially with a protruding belly! There was peeling paint in the room and after two consecutive showers the water did run a little tepid.
Tea and coffee were provided in the room and hairdryer. No biscuits.

The parking is free and available though quite snug.

The location of the hotel is super, very quiet and yet within 15 mins to the centre of the city, waterfront, theatre's and concert halls.

Breakfast was not the best, small selection of cereals and help yourself tea and coffee. only orange juice. The hot breakfast choice was good however not cooked particularly well, had the feeling of being on a microwave.

All staff very friendly though and overall would recommend however perhaps skip breakfast and try one of the many super eateries in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived I was met by the manager who was very welcoming, kind and helpful when checking me in. The room was very stylish and well presented, whilst also spotless. The whole hotel was well heated and my room too. Overall a delightful stay and would definitly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in 2 rooms as my adult son was also touring with us. We really enjoyed the location, staff were helpful and friendly, rooms clean and spacious. Each morning we were offered a cooked breakfast "special", which were always delicious. On-site car parking was a real bonus as we used Bristol as a base to tour the south eastern UK and into Wales by car. Situated in a quiet Bristol residential area, which had the added bonus of being really pleasant to stroll around. Would certainly stay again on our next trip to UK.

Room Tip: We requested double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was very disappointed with my stay here having read good reviews on Trip Advisor. Perhaps I was just unlucky with the very small downstairs room situated at the back of the building.
I reported the fact that I'd had to sleep with my fleece on as the radiator wasn't working and also asked for a blanket. On the second day I was informed that I was turning the knob the wrong way!! It wasn't working and that was that!! I was also informed that a blanket had been out in the wardrobe. I had to stand on a chair to find a thin blanket at the very back of the top of the wardrobe! A second night wearing a fleece!
On the plus side the breakfast was really quite good and the staff were mostly pleasant. It was situated in a quiet residential area around 25 minutes walk from the harbour side but it was a lovely walk to reach this very attractive area. Overall I was most impressed with Bristol but I wouldn't stay in this guest house again. I had been attending a medical conference.

Room Tip: Don't take the single room downstairs at the back. It was looked into from the car park, was abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst visiting our daughter at University. Room was very small although okay for one or two nights. Pretty soft furnishings but when duvet was pulled back concerned that bed didn't look as if it had been made properly from previous occupants! Sheet and mattress protector not tucked in at all and mattress protector dirty. Not sure whether all bedding had been changed. Bed comfortable and lovely pillows. Bedside lamp dusty.

Bathroom - toilet bowl was filthy which I have never experienced in a hotel before. Sealant in shower had really bad mildew in one corner which could have been easily sorted out. Extractor fan was filthy too. Shame because everywhere else was clean. I had dirty hotel bathrooms!

Breakfast - excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hotel style, bed and breakfast accommodation at a fraction of the cost. With free breakfast, on site parking and wifi all included in our rates. Only a 10 minute walk away from Bristol's City Centre, Clifton Village and Whiteladies' Road and only a 5 minute walk away from the BBC and Bristol University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Bristol
Tyndalls Park Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.