We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2013” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Zoo Gardens

Bristol Zoo Gardens
Clifton Down, Bristol BS8 3HA, England
0117 974 7399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 133 attractions in Bristol
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Bristol Zoo Gardens you can enjoy an amazing world of animals, all within our award-winning 12 acre gardens. With over 400 species and 9 animals houses under cover, you'll enjoy your visit whatever the weather. We suggest you allow 2-5 hours for your visit to really take in everything we have to offer.By visiting Bristol Zoo you will be directly contributing to the conservation of endangered species and habitats.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“August 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very little wild animals to see, you will find directions to the zoo showing elephants but when you get there none to be seen, and for what you pay to get in, there should be a lot more to see, Have recently been to Chester Zoo and a completely different place, loads more large wild animals compared to what I would call a large pet shop in Bristol and you need to take a loan out to pay to get in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    314
    135
    69
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a good day at the zoo photographing the animals - able to get pretty close to most. Plenty of variety and a good day out

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Ashton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place whatever the weather! Dedicated baby change facilities like John Lewis would improve it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love this zoo. I have two under 2 and it is a great place to entertain the eldest for a entire morning. They are constantly looking to improve the attraction so you will find works going on but this is good for the zoo and has minimal intrusion. Particularly love the gorilla house and meerkats!

Not sure if I go for for the kids or me....

Anyway, there is a great outdoor space for kids with swings etc. When we visited in the summer we really enjoyed the outdoor water play area, in fact I don't think we saw any animals on one visit!

If you are a local in Bristol this is well worth the membership as it is excellent come rain or shine. We've been when it's raining and enjoyed splashing in puddles but there is plenty of overhead protection so you are rarely out in the elements if you plan your visit in advance.

Food is reasonably priced for a big attraction and toilets pretty good too. They could do with dedicated baby change area considering it is a family attraction.

If you have children aged 3 and under you only need an adult membership whereas without it you'd have to pay for children aged over 2 as well as yourself for each visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“geogaphically a small zoo but they make the most of what they've got”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

i must admit to being an annual member and we attend the zoo often with our 6 year old grandson. for £100 for three of us its excellent value. there is always something going on we just pop in for a couple of hours if you live locally and have regular babysitting duties its a real good fall back - even in the rain!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good but small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our family likes to visit Bristol Zoo every couple of years and although smaller than some other zoo's, it still offers a good day out for people of all ages. Our two year old loves getting up close to the animals and there are plenty of opportunities for taking photos. The only negative I can think of is that the variety of animals is lacking. We have recently returned from Chester Zoo which was significantly bigger with more variety albeit further to get to. Nevertheless, we will return to Bristol Zoo in the near future and would recommend the zoo to those looking for a fun family day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Zoo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Zoo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Zoo Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bristol Zoo Gardens to your Saves list