We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bristol Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Cathedral

Bristol Cathedral
College Green, Bristol BS1 5TJ, England
44 117 926 4879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 96 Attractions in Bristol
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
South East
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bristol Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Huge! On our visit we couldn't get inside as Graduation ceremony was taking place with students from Bristol University. Check before you go that there is not a service taking place..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    126
    35
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This Cathedral is lovely. Went there for a graduation ceremony. What a fabulous setting. Easy to get to in the centre of Bristol. Well worth a visit if you are a culture vulture

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Calm in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're in Bristol you should call into the cathedral (it's free) and spend some time in peace and quiet. Admire the vaulted ceiling and the numerous stained glass windows.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Welcoming and wonderful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We wandered into this cathedral on our walk around the old town area of Bristol. I'm glad we did. We see a lot of churches, and while this one isn't the most visually stunning cathedral I've seen, it was the most welcoming. We were greeted by a lovely older lady and the priest was sitting near the entrance also welcoming guests. Not because it was a special occasion, but just because that's what they do. The reading material about the church is better than most.
The most beautiful part is the "old bit" downstairs where you can see old parts of the ancient stained glass and you see the beautiful garden out back that is actually a cemetery. You can enjoy the peace and quiet with a cup of coffee or tea!
Definitely worth a peek.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great Place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Bristol cathedral is great Place to visit
and also it is a good venue to see a concert when they are on at the cathedral

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.