We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to do and not enough time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At-Bristol

At-Bristol
Anchor Road, Bristol BS1 5DB, England
+44 (0)845 345 1235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 96 Attractions in Bristol
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is so much to discover for all the family with At-Bristol!With hundreds of hands-on exhibits to explore, live shows and a Planetarium, At-Bristol is one of the UK’s biggest and most exciting interactive science centres.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“So much to do and not enough time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

There's something for all the family and you can lose a day by going anywhere near this great, informative and interactive museum. Just Go - if you have kids they won't let you leave again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    156
    40
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Awesome experience for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

They say you learn something everyday and as a senior citizen I certainly learnt more than one thing here! It's great for interaction with all ages and to show how good it was in all our time there we didn't hear one child crying! Set on two floors there's so much to do and during half term we didn't have to wait long to access all the interactive attractions. As value for money it rates well compared to some when the whole experience is over in about an hour! The picnic area is great for the money conscious as the cafe is,whilst open to public as well, quite expensive. With gift-aid you do get money off vouchers for the shop or cafe which is a good added incentive. Overall our stay was knowledgeable, amusing and value for money.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for kids and you can take your own food and eat there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent 5.5hrs in here. You can also take your own lunch into the centre and they have areas you can eat in. We have a 9 and 13 year old daughters and had to drag them away. It is really hard to get a turn on the Animation area but wait until the end it's a bit easier and best of all the animation video they make can be emailed to yourself so that they can keep it. We did the Planetarium and Glow show and the kids enjoyed it. You get a barcode that you can scan throughout the centre and can retrieve the information later be sure to keep your barcord though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“@ Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Brilliant, hands-on experience for children and grown ups!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth the entry fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Standing in the half term queue for At-Bristol we had a moment's doubt that we were going to be paying £30+ for something we can get for free at the Science Museum in London. But this turned out to be a really great experience and worth the money.

It's in essence a two storey building full of hands on science-based activities, with an emphasis on animation on the upper floor. Some activities were more popular than others, but even on a busy day there was always something available and generally we didn't have to wait too long for most things (although when we arrived at 11am the next available showing at the planetarium was 3.30...)

Two things impressed me in particular. One was the variety of things to see and do, from a replica womb you could sit inside, to making an animation, to seeing how sound waves moved. The second thing was that it (almost) all worked! Apart from a couple of pc's that seemed to be on the blink, every other bit of kit we used was in working order. For a hands on environment towards the end of half term, that's pretty good going!

We were there for several hours and didn't get round to doing everything. We could have easily stayed longer or gone back later in the day on the same ticket but had other plans.

So a top class attraction in a great location.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed At-Bristol also viewed

 

Been to At-Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At-Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.