We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manor House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Old Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Manor House Hotel
5 Bristol Road | Keynsham, Bristol BS31 2BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Bristol B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and what a lovely hotel. The staff were very welcoming and our room was delightful. You could not fault the evening meal or the breakfast. The whole place is full of character and charm and I would defiantly recommend this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
52
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have been going to the Old Manor House for 10 years and have seen it under several owners. This time, we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary (a fact mentioned at booking) as we have done several times before. Having not been for several months, I can only say we were disappointed. On the positive side, the food is stlll very good: I was impressed with my mussels and steak; my partner with her prawns and moussaka. Also, more wines, including Proscecco are now available by the glass. But, sadly, there the praise must end. We were really disappointed with the evening. There was no acknowledgement that it was a special occasion, despite the mention on booking. The good wine ordered was not the mediocre wine provided (to be fair, we were only charged for what we had). Mineral water had to be requested three times. Several things were off the menu. The atmosphere and service were simply not the same as we had enjoyed for the last few years. Some staff seem to regard diners as a nuisance rather than guests. This is a lovely venue: the setting benefits from its age, The combination of relaxing bar and period dining room is its great selling point. But the Old Manor House needs to regain the sense of specialness that it had if it is to remain more than another place to eat in Keynsham.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely hotel, warm reception from all staff and food to make your mouth water .....
We couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely hotel with loads of history, beautiful fireplace in bar and lots of creaky floorboards in room which I love. The staff are great very welcoming, we stay in lots of hotels but not many have the receptionist show you to your room like the Old Manor House or give you a guided tour when you check in. The rooms are small but great, small flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities, bed also had a memory foam mattress. Breakfast was lovely, cereal and hot breakfast, again served by friendly and helpfull staff. We did not eat here but they have a restaurant. Keynsham is not the most exciting place in the world but they have a few pubs and restaurants in the village. Lovely old church there which you can see from hotel and some sad old remains of the abbey, Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmickeeee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Ok I have rated this place 3 out of five because when I booked through Booking .com there was no mention of it closing the bar and restaurant at 4pm on a Sunday. The pictures display lovely fires and oak beams which is the reason I picked it.

We arrived at 2pm and were seen to very quickly. We were told straight away the bar and restaurent were closing at 4. It was disappointing as my dad is not the most mobile could not walk very far so we had to find somewhere else to eat.

The rooms are clean and comfy.
At breakfast there were no pastries as advertised or fruit.
Overall I would give this place another chance but not on a Sunday.
Location is good for both Bath and Bristol

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, General Manager at Old Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, I do apologise about breakfast, this has been passed to the member of staff on duty and I will make sure it doesnt happen again. With regards to Sunday please contact me directly when you book again and I can make sure you are looked after even when the restaurant closes.
This is noted on our website and I will make sure booking.com are fully stating it from now on. I hope to see you back at the old manor. please contact me directly if you have any queries.
Kind Regards

Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We had been looking for a place to stay without any luck when we came across the old manor house hotel. We were welcomed with open arms and filled with delicious food before enjoying a wonderful sleep in our beautiful rooms. Despite not having children here often the hosts made the entire family comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Guest Relations Manager at Old Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I hope to see you back at the old manor soon
Kind Regards

Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lunch for 6 booked on Fathers day for 2pm - great - having read good reviews we were looking forward to our meal.
Oh dear - quite obviously on arrival it was not going well - eventually we asked about our table at 2.30pm and were told they were running late; I think it was the lack of genuine care and concern for us as paying guests; we got to the table at 3pm; service was ordinary and food good but tepid; sullen waitresses and the need to ask twice for everything - mustard; water; a bottle of wine; and then when it was time for desserts there was a menu of significantly reduced options to the ones we were expecting from the original menu. We paid and expressed our disappointment and still there was no apology or concern - just a statement that 2 waitresses were off sick and what was she supposed to do about it. Belligerent and ungracious and took the £130 without a blink. Speechless. There are tons of positive reviews - what happened this time?? If you are having a bad day - own up and apologise and offer some compensation - its basic customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Guest Relations Manager at Old Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I have notified all staff about them and I can only apologise. I would like to welcome you back and please book directly through myself and I will ensure your visit is worth remembering. Thanks Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor House Hotel

Address: 5 Bristol Road | Keynsham, Bristol BS31 2BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Manor House with four poster beds, roaring fires, fab food and staff to ensure your stay is first class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor House Hotel Bristol
Old Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.