We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road | Henbury, Bristol BS10 7QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Whenever I'm working in Bristol I always use Henbury Lodge. The staff are very friendly and helpful and whenever I book they try to allocate my favourite room to me. The hotel is small and personal and feels more like a home away from home than some of the other larger hotels I stay in when I'm in other areas. It's only 10 minutes drive from my office too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    124
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
156
23
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is an oasis of peacefulness and charm with polite, friendly staff. The quality of the food is excellent with sittings for dinner managed so as to allow the chef to maintain this level of achievement. Within the main building there are various sizes and character of rooms each fitted out to a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night recently and I would really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bristol. Great room, great service (even made us tea and toast when we arrived back at the hotel at 1.30am after a party!) and the breakfast was excellent. Having stayed at other hotels recently that cost three times as much this hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I rarely write reviews, but felt compelled to add my opinion of the Henbury Lodge. I stayed at this hotel for a business trip during the second week in December - and I am sure to return.
Check-in felt much more personal than your usual affair – no large, impersonal ‘bank counter-type’ desk, but a more relaxed (yet professional) greeting, with one to one service. The chap checking me in was very friendly and helpful – pointing out the location of a nearby supermarket, where I could buy some bits and pieces I needed. The only fault that could be made of this hotel (I’ll get it out of the way early), is that there is no lift, for those who would struggle with stairs. This wasn’t a problem for me, and I found the layout of the stairs and rooms charming.
I stayed in room 8, and it was lovely – nice and spacious with a proper work desk (which came in useful - along with the free wifi), a nice modern bathroom, with shower and large bath, and a room safe – again, a nice addition, which was appreciated.
On the first evening I went down to dinner and was served by a lovely lady – I apologise, as I don’t remember your name, but I remember you had a whippet (named Blaze?). The food at the Henbury is delicious, with a specials menu including dishes that are a bit ‘special’ – rabbit, for instance… On being seated I was presented with a dish of olives and nuts while I contemplated the menu, and once I had made my choice, I was served with some freshly baked focaccia with oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping. From what I gather, the focaccia is baked fresh each day – and is delicious..! Unfortunately, I took the decision to be brave and try something I hadn’t had before, and I have to admit that it wasn’t my taste. I am not pointing this out as criticism of the chef, far from it, but to emphasis the service I received in return, with the waitress immediately offering a replacement meal and free glass of wine. Dessert went down a treat and on my second evening, I polished off my meal with gusto… Breakfast is cooked fresh to order, and you can tell!
The staff at the Henbury Lodge are a delight, and they go out of their way to be helpful, remembering your name and room number with no hesitance, and always offering assistance with a smile. My needs are fairly simple – a nice, clean room, decent food, and the occasional taxi reservation to be made, but the service received at the Henbury was excellent. On check out, the cleaner, owner (I think) and the receptionist all offered to open doors and carry my luggage – the receptionist wouldn’t take ‘no’ for an answer and insisted on wheeling my case out to the waiting taxi. And after keeping my eyes peeled from arrival, but to no avail, I finally got to meet the beautiful 4-legged resident (Rosie?), on my final morning…

There are only 20 rooms at the Henbury, and many of them were taken up by repeat customers, which I think speaks for itself – I hope to be one of them, on my next visit to Bristol – thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This well located hotel offers a friendly first class service from the time you enter the front door to the point you leave. The bedroom was spacious with a high quality finish, with much attention given to the finer detail. The breakfast was of a high standard with quality products cooked to perfection.The staff are attentive, with nothing to much trouble. A first class establishment.
Don't miss a visit to Blaise Castle just 200 yards away which offers free admission to a "walk down memory lane".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel

Address: Station Road | Henbury, Bristol BS10 7QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish country house hotel in Bristol offers spacious rooms, an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and large gardens. Housed in a Georgian building, each room at the friendly Henbury Lodge has a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels, tea and coffee facilities and an iPod dock. The AA-Rosette Blaise Restaurant offers a menu that changes monthly, serving locally sourced seasonal produce with daily specials. On fine evenings during the summer months a BBQ menu including fish, sirloin steaks and salads is frequently offered in the walled garden. Cooked-to-order breakfasts include local farm bacon and sausages, Cornish kippers, fresh orange juice and homemade marmalade. Segafredo Premium Bean to cup coffee is also served. There is free ample parking in the grounds of Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel. The hotel has been under new ownership since April 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henbury Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.