We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. it is located near the Temple Meads train station which makes is ideal for commuting , the rooms are of a good size and have the normal facilities required. the meals are la a carte but there is a Wertherspoons public house close by which serves good food and an excellent selection of beers and Ales. the breakfast are of a reasonable quality with serve yourself hot food. the staff are friendly, the hotel price is reasonable for central Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words, I was very pleased to read that we meet your needs and myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Bristol.

Thanks again!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    522
    146
    42
    16
See reviews for
86
498
105
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed last weekend and used the Garden Inn as a base. We were here back in June and it's good to see the same high standards of service maintained months later. A good breakfast can set the tone for the day and the quality food and the pleasant staff got both days off to a great start. Happy to say that both arrival at and departure from reception was hassle-free and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello!

Myself and the team were so happy to read your comments. Thank you for your kind words and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for an overnight stay as a city break and were fortunate to have a 3 course meal and bottle of Rosa as part of a promotion (Double Room, Queen Bed for £89).
On entering the hotel was clean, décor was modern and reception was pleasant and very helpful.
The room was well laid out and had all the amenities that we required, including an Apple computer setup with TV facilities. The only factor that stop us giving a 5 rating was the shower was unpredictable and one minute the water would be at an ample temperature, then suddenly go cold and then hot.
We ate at the hotel’s restaurant and on entering the reception we was greeted by a member of staff asking if we would like a complimentary pumpkin drink.

The food in the restaurant was very good, although had to explain a couple of times prior to eating that we were on a promotion to (who we think was the Restaurant Manager) and what that included.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the station. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, which we took to the suspension bridge and walked back the hotel via parks, museums, cathedral, and art exhibitions (mostly down hill walking).
Overall a very good experience, great value and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your recent stay with us.

You must have stayed with us for Halloween - the pumpkin soup was our take on a treat!

I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and I am sorry that the shower and welcome to City Cafe was not at the same standard.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel prior to an early morning flight out. Great location near the train station and several good pubs. The location also was good for a quick cab ride to the airport in the morning. The hotel modern with friendly and fast service. They provided a prompt wake-up call and arranged for our cab. The rooms had comfortable beds and a fun television/computer. The entire hotel, including the rooms were very clean. An excellent choice if staying in Bristol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback, I hope you had an amazing holiday after your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were going to Bristol on a stag weekend and we stayed here. This hotel is modern and very clean and the staff are very helpful. The bar is decent and The rooms are brilliant and each room has an apple mac. Bristol city centre is a 10 minute walk away which is perfect if you've had a few too many!! Only reason this doesn't get 5 is because of the breakfast, other than that its great!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback to us.

I am glad you enjoyed your weekend and a big congratulations to the lucky couple!

I am sorry to hear your comments about breakfast, I have passed these on to the team.

Thanks again

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while on business in the area. The hotel came with a reasonable price (~104 GBP / night incld breakfast) and a great central location (<5min walk from Temple Meads).

Check in was a breeze. I asked for a room on an upper floor (just because upper floors are generally quieter) and was accommodated. My room looked towards the back of the hotel , and was very quiet.

The Daily breakfast has a great variety and should suit anyones needs. They offer a range of cold cereals, fruit, mead, cheese, breads, croissants, muffins, eggs, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes, yogurt and the self-serve waffle machine. You can also have eggs cooked to preference. I had an omelette and the only minor complaint I could make was that they didn't have any options of vegetable to put in it. I'm from Canada and am used to omelettes full of vegetables (peppers, onion, spinach, etc..), I ended up with ham, mushroom & cheese - a very minor inconvenience.

The room was very clean and modern. It featured an iMac in pace of a regular TV which you could use to watch TV, surf the net, or whatever else a mac can do. There was also free wifi throughout the hotel and the reception in my room was fine to video chat back home. The room also had a mini fridge (empty) and a small safe. The shower was hot and water pressure ample.

The hotel also has a small but adequate gym that has a few treadmills, cycles, do-it-all machine and some free-weights. Just fine to stay in shape while on the road. I did not find (mind you I didn't ask either) a pool/steam-room or sauna on site.

Check out was also very simple. Standard checkout time is 12:00pm, I requested a late checkout and was offered 1:00pm. Not a huge difference so I checked out and made use of temporary bag storage while checking out the city a bit on the last day.

There are plenty of amenities well within waling distance of the hotel. Bristol city centre is <10min walk where you can find many restaurants,pubs, etc..

All in all, I have no complaints and would both recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor, overlooking the temple for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. We here at Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre were all so happy to read it.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have used this on a number of occasions for lunch,going back to the days when it was The Mint hotel. A number of the staff remain and are very friendly and helpful and do recognise you when you return (thanks Aga ) The hotel has a car park for guests, it can get busy and on one occasion we had to park in pay car park next door and move the car when space was available.We have always enjoyed our lunches here, if you enjoy vegetables you may need to order more than come with the meal. The dining area can be a bit noisy as they do have conferences at the hotel.There is a terrace over looking a small park ideal for drinks and lunch on a sunny day. We recommended friends to stay here they came by train and it is a short walk away from Templemeads station ,there is also a bus stop outside. They found the hotel ideal for a weekend break and they could to most areas of interest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review, Aga was thrilled you mentioned her.

Daniel Kasieczka our Head Chef, Aga and both their teams were thrilled with your comments, thank you so much once again.

We look forward to seeing you for your festive lunch!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.