We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
hemel hempstead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for one night en route to Cornwall to have a bit of time in Bristol exploring the area. I booked the Hilton Gardens online via Trivago for £71 but was please to find a 10% discount code so only paid £63-worth looking around for a deal as this was an absolute bargain since it included breakfast. The hotel room was small, light, very modern, and extremely clean, The iMac was a brilliant addition even though we didn't spend enough time there to make use of it. The bed was really comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Great shower too. The buffet breakfast was excellent, fantastic choice of food and though we were still full from our Indian meal the previous evening as soon as we smelt the breakfast we couldn't resist. Nice to have daily papers to read while eating. All in all a really good experience for us, we don't stay in hotels very often so want it to be an enjoyable time which this was. I read on other reviews about £10 parking fees but this wasn't mentioned to us and as we used the quick checkout (there was a queue when we are ready to leave) perhaps we just got lucky. One word of advice, if you book online via Trivago or similar make sure you have all relevant paperwork-I printed out the confirmation form but there was a problem when we booked in as they didn't seem to have us on their system. However the receptionist was really helpful and dealt with it without a fuss, but it could have been awkward. Would recommend and would be happy to return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    522
    146
    43
    16
See reviews for
86
498
105
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in the Hilton Gardens inn for 1 night for our Anniversary and what a pleasure it was and excellent value we paid £68 and that included breakfast and upon arrival we had complimentary drink vouchers gave us as it was a special occasion.
the room was small but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Every room had an apple I mac in which was very handy there was also free wifi through out the hotel.
The buffet breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice.
If I had 1 criticism it was that the hotel charged £10 per night for parking which I found extortionate.
But that aside i'll be sure to stay there again as it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Basic Hilton business-orientated hotel in the centre of Bristol. Walking distance to all the main central areas. Rooms are predictably quite small, but well appointed - with Apple IMACs, decent desk, good lighting and comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful/professional. Only complaint was that I was located near to one of the World's loudest Tumble Driers (I think that is what I was hearing all night!!) - so refuse Room 525 if offered it........ The hotel has a decent cafe on the Ground Floor (City Cafe) that serves decent food and drink and is comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 525 unless you like tumble-drier noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just a great feel good factor here. New, refreshing, light and airy.
Apple Macs in your room is a huge thumbs up and the bar and restaurant were very good... Can be expensive but it's a hotel and most are..
Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast was great

Room Tip: Choose a park view if possible. Queen suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed in other hotels in Bristol, and this is definitely a good one. It is about 10 minute walk from the centre of town, but it is a pleasant walk. Internet is free and easy. It was also very good value. The rooms were very nice (not very big however) and modern and clean. Lots of electric plugs and beds were comfortable. Only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that there may be noise from road (if you have a room facing this), and severe shortage of parking out front (and tightness of space). Note that it has a restaurant / bar but that breakfast is not included in many packages.

Room Tip: Get room away from main road as much less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Only spent one night but it was remarkably good. The room had a suprisingly "expensive" feel to it, and the breakfast was very satisfactory.
We arrived at night and used the nearby on-road (free) parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very nice hotel that seems quite new and fresh. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We booked a special deal and found too late it was for twin rooms but it was changed to a double no problem at all.

The only 2 points which dropped a star are a tiny bathroom, and TV over internet which was not fast enough to allow seamless watching. Personally I dislike Apple and found the iMac incredibly frustrating but I clearly realise that for this I'm in a minority.

However for the really important points - quiet room (even though we were on the road side of the hotel), cleanliness, bed and sleep quality, all were excellent so we can only recommend this hotel and would look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.